We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Aug 28th to Sep 2nd, 2013.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102 (Newark Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stayed Aug 28th to Sep 2nd, 2013.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Building is old, although rooms are just fine, but still need some facelift or renovation. Some of amenities in our room like the mini-fridge is not working, light bulbs in one of the lamp shades need replacement. I find the rooms not well sound-insulated because I can hear the next room's door opens and closes and it is bothersome! The lady front desk in the evening (I think her name is Jessica) is lazy and not courteous enough to help guests, she doesn't care about finding help for hotel guests. She must not be doing customer service work. The parking attendant is good and a helpful guy. The breakfast lounge attendant, Miss Crosby, is a very good and hardworking staff. She is friendly and enthusiastic towards the guests. The free daily continental breakfast is great and I like the pancakes! The hotel facilities like the business room, fitness room are good for a budget hotel like this. Location is good --walking distance to Newark Penn Station. Free coffee 24 hrs is offered at 11th floor which is awesome. And parking for hotel guests is free which is a plus!

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms in mid-floors are better if you want to get rid of noises coming from machine room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    373
    168
    63
    53
See reviews for
188
270
112
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tully, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here on our visit to NYC. Location was perfect. 4 blocks to Newark Penn Station. The staff was friendly above and beyond. Free shuttle to Penn Station. Rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast was just what you'd expect with MORE friendly staff running it. The guys working the parking lot and running the shuttle were very helpful and nice Stay here if you are going to NYC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francheville, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Convenient for tourism in NewYork: 5 minutes walk/shuttle from the Newark Penn Station, giving direct access to Manhattan 18 minutes later.
Large rooms, excellent beds, not so much noise despite the exhibition center nearby, free shuttles to/from train station, helpful reception staff.
Area around the hotel has no interest! Better find a restaurant in NewYork before returning at night to the hotel as there is no choice around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

While having a hair cut at Murray's Barber shop in Timaru,were talking about his trip to New York,and I said we were going in August 2013.
He said he stayed at the Robert Treat Hotel in Newark,and only around $100.00 per couple,plus breakfast.
So I looked into it,and that is where we stayed.
They pick you up from Newark airport in the free shuttle,and take you to Penn Station etc.
The express has only 2 stops to New York,only 2o minutes to New York Penn Station.
Our room was great for the money,around $120.00 per night,plus breakfast.
Large flat screen tv,plus coffee.
The ladies in the breakfast room fantastic,plus all staff were great.

Room Tip: Maybe you could up grade to a better room,but we thought what we had was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I love Ferry Street in Newark. Wanted to enjoy his birthday so I surprised him and we stayed here for the night. It was very busy weekend due to Labor Day. The check out went smooth. The room was very clean. I felt very safe in this location your car is in a locked parking area. The staff was great at the front deck. In fact Malika was super helpful she told us places to go and when I overslept she gave us a later checkout. She is a super asset to the hotel!!!! They have a free shuttle to penn station and other locations. It is very close to airport. It also had a very nice free continental breakfast. It is a great hotel and we loved it cause we were able to go to dinner on Ferry st. and take taxi back to hotel and relax!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Near Newark Penn station. It is a good value. Built in 1916 but modern. No exhaust fans in bathrooms. Nice restaurant. Guest laundry room. Average breakfast. Terry the shuttle driver will let you know where to go to see things and where to eat. He is very good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Address: 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.