We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Choice for Many Reasons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102 (Newark Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newark
West Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A Solid Choice for Many Reasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is a well maintained property which is reasonably priced and offers free shuttle services to and from both Newark Penn Station and the airport.

Our room, though on the small side, was updated and comfortable. Even the convertible sleeper sofa wasn't bad at all. TV gets several channels including HBO movies and there is an inroom coffee maker and fridge. A satisfactory continental breakfast, including some brand name cereals, hard boiled eggs, fruit and bagels is offered in the morning. Seating can be a challenge though! I understand the on site restaurant is very good, though we opted for less expensive delivery from a local Italian place.

Should I have the need to be in Newark in the future, I would stay here again. The only area for improvement might be in the demeanor of the desk staff. Although they were courteous, they lacked friendliness and did not even smile -- not the best traits in working with the public! Overall, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the NYC skyline is a plus if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    340
    153
    58
    49
See reviews for
171
246
105
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a very good value when a special rate is offered. If you don't have a car, though, there is a problem getting from Newark Penn Station to this hotel. The area is deserted at night and potentially dangerous so it's not advisable to walk from the station. The hotel offers shuttle service but during my stay I had to call several times to remind the person at the front desk that I was waiting for the shuttle. On a cold rainy night it was no fun. The front desk also offers no advice on the area. The room I stayed in, however, was very nice. I would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor so that you can have a view of Newark. Taking the Path train to New York City was OK; New Jersey transit is worth the higher cost. My advice about breakfast is get there early. The staff in the breakfast area stand around chatting but doing nothing to replenish the breakfast buffet. One staff member actually complained in a loud voice that it was only 8 am. and that she had two more hours of work ahead of her. That staff in general needs some training in hospitality,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is close to Newark Airport which was our reason for stay...great value as in price you also have breakfast and shuttle included..friendly people and very clean big rooms...a big recommendation !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at this hotel during our trip to new york city. the hotel is ideal for low budget stay.PATH trains take you to NYC from newark penn station for less than 5$ to and fro. the perks of the hotel were breakfast is served until late morning, good spacious and clean rooms and bathroom, good locality, pretty friendly staff. the only down part was The roads to the penn state is quite sketchy, try and stick to the main roads.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I booked this hotel on Expedia as I was planning a non-expensive visit to New York City (Dec 5 - 9), and it was a great deal compared with the absurd prices in Manhattan. I was a little worried because I had read some scary reviews, but everything was great. The shuttle from the hotel arrived 2 minutes after we stepped out of the P4 Airtrain Station at Newark Airport. The driver was very nice and helpful. On the way to the hotel he talked about the city, pointing out the main sites and offering advice. Check-in was fast and without problems. The hotel seems a little dated but overall it's nicer than I expected for the price. The room was very nice, clean, spacious and with modern decor. Even though it was on the third floor we had a nice view of the Manhattan skyline. Wi-Fi, heat, bathroom, TV and safe all worked perfectly. We only had an issue with the mini-fridge which didn't cool enough. We had breakfast everyday at around 10 am and had no trouble finding a table. The food selection was good and the area was very nice. The staff at the breakfast lounge were specially nice and always smiling. The store by the lobby was very convenient and open late. Even though the hotel had a shuttle service we walked everyday to and from Newark Penn Station and had no problems. The neighborhood might seem a little unsafe, but we didn't see anything scary and nobody approached us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hmm... this is too good to pass up--- it was a real 'treat' to stay at the Robert Treat Best Western hotel! Loved the sculptures, pictures and the decor in the lobby. The room was immaculate. Great value and location....the coffee was very fresh at the complmentary breakfast. Parking was free, a real plus in a city.

Room Tip: We satyed on the 11th floor, away from the action....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Address: 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.