We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stopover hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Parking
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very good stopover hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel twice now and really like it for a stopover. Since our last visit the hotel has a new bar and restaurant area which is much more modern. The food is good too with pleasant bar staff. It you're planning on going into NYC for the day and don't want to pay Manhattan prices it's ideal. Take the free shuttle, then the free air train and then the NJ transit for $25 return fare to Penn Station. The rooms are typical Marriott style, nothing flash but comfortable beds with tea, coffee etc. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    475
    160
    47
    19
See reviews for
195
259
101
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had travelled for 26 hours from Sydney so we were very grateful to have a night in a hotel before embarking on our final destination the next day. The shuttle bus was frequent, checked into our room quickly but we felt there was limited choice in food to purchase and the service was too slow so we gave up. The beds were sooooo comfy and we slept well. The shuttle bus was easy to catch next morning and the place served its purpose well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Normally airport hotels aren't that great but the Marriott was. The lobby was excellent, the room was comfortable, room service was great. Internet (and I psi for the premium level) was a bit patchy and slow. For being stuck in Newark for an extra night due to a missed flight the Marriott definitely made my stay better. Only con was the pillows on the bed. Only 2 regular pillows and lots of decorative ones I never used. Also needed more towels in the room instead of the 2 that were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed at the Newark Marriott for one night before an early flight. I stayed on the concierge floor, the main benefit of which is free food and drinks. The concierge lounge faces the airport, and has an interesting view, as do the airport-facing rooms. The sound insolation is fantastic, not a sound from the airport or traffic. The beds and bedding were comfortable, and the room was fine, but nothing special. I was missing a couple of toiletries, and was quickly brought conditioner on request, but they were out of shower caps (!). The shower itself was OK, but kept getting cooler, and after a while it emitted a high-pitched sound (room 1004 if the hotel is listening). I was flying out of terminal B, which is quite walkable, though you have to step over a guardrail and walk through a parking lot. The video checkout wasn't working, and I wasn't going to pay Marriott for WiFi to download the new Marriott app, so I checked out in person. Staff were fine throughout.

Room Tip: Airport-facing rooms have a better view, and are completely quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't see any way to recycle in the room or in the concierge lounge.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had not planned to stay three nights at Newark (show storm...) but I guess this hotel is alright with clean and large rooms including large and comfy beds. The heater was perhaps a bit noisy. And the food was not that great. My biggest problem was the price, which I found to be far to high for what you get. Since you have to go around in a shuttle bus anyway, you might as well go a bit further to something cheaper.

Room Tip: Does really matter; airport and roads all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to submit your feedback of our hotel. Providing brilliant service and product to our guests is our goal. We will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Have stayed here many times over the past 20 years and Marriott has done a pretty good job bringing it up to date and keeping it clean. The rooms are functional and quiet. The front desk staff has always been very friendy, helpful and efficient. This hotel appears to be the most convenient airport hotel at Newark Airport - it's not walkable but I've always found the shuttles to run very frequently. Definitely a good option for a late night arrival or early morning departure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

As an airport hotel, most people are there a night or two. I spent eleven. The welcome was excellent and the staff in general were most pleasant (many I have recognized from periodic stays over the past ten years. Funnily enough, a couple of them recognized me too.)

The room was fine standard Marriott fare and nicely appointed. My closet was, however, about 2ft wide, which was unfortunate as I had plenty to hang in it. The ironing board thus lived out in the room for the duration, to make space. The room was well serviced and kept nicely clean. The duvet was on the thin side for winter weather, but since I was alone I could fold it double to get the comfort I needed.

The lobby, restaurant and bar were recently updated. I kind of miss the old dimly-lit "70's camp" Aviation bar lounge, but the new consolidated restaurant/lounge/bar set-up is very appealing. Table service was not good at all, so I chose to go to the bar itself, where the service was quick, attentive and cordial.

The Concierge Lounge was a bit too hectic and crowded for my taste, but the fare was up to standard. In the evenings they go above the average with the hot selection and an excellent homemade nightly soup. The attendants were all friendly and kept things stocked. Jacqueline in particular was delightful.

I'll be back again for another eleven night stay later in the year and will be happy to do so. Hopefully I'll get one of the rooms with a larger closet!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.