We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid travel hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Fly
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Solid travel hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here one night in early August. The room was clean and comfortable with a good sized bathroom. We were able to check in early which was great so we could clean up and spend a great day in NYC. The hotel has a quick and efficient shuttle bus to the airport but is also an easy walk. We fly through Newark often and I would not hesitate to stay at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    447
    147
    41
    17
See reviews for
183
237
96
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are arriving on a flight, the hotel provide a free shuttle which is available from AIR TRAIN STATION 4 only. All hotel shuttles pick up from this point. Shuttles are very regular and take you directly to the hotel. If you prefer, and only have light luggage you can just walk across the car park. It only takes five minutes

On arrival at the Hotel you will notice building work at the front of the hotel. This didn't seem to effect the hotel inside at all.
Checking in staff were very friendly and approachable.
The room was very nice, and the bed was very comfy. Everything you need is available including Flat screen TV, Iron & Board, Hair Dryer, Full length mirror and tea & coffee. Unfortunately as with most big hotel chains Wi-Fi is not free.
The hotel does have a very good gym and even has an indoor/outdoor pool.
Overall this is a good hotel. Everything is clean well maintained.

If you decide to go into Manhattan here are your options.
TAXI: $80 - $100 each way. Expensive but direct.

BUS from terminal : $28 return. Catch the free shuttle bus to the the airport terminal. The driver will drop you off at the correct location. Then catch the Bus and it will drop you at various points in Manhattan. The main downside of the Taxi and Bus service is the traffic. Its usually very bad.

AIR TRAIN-TRAIN: $12.50 one way: Take the free shuttle from the hotel to any Air Train station in the Airport terminal. Once in the terminal get on the Air train to the train station. Once in the train station buy your ticket to Penn Station. Please note there are 2 Penn Stations. Newark and Manhattan. Don't get of the train at the first Penn station as you will have to get back on to complete your journey. This all sounds a lot of hassle but it does work out quite well. Its only 4 stops and takes 25 minutes by train and you are in the centre of New York.
Check out timetables below.
http://www.njtransit.com/sf/sf_servlet.srv?hdnPageAction=TrainTo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Flew into Newark to attend a family funeral for two nights without my husband. It was a convenient location. I was made to feel so comfortable and welcome. I love Marriott's in general and this was no exception. The restaurant was great and so was the service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After an 11 hour flight from Istanbul and our connection to Denver cancelled, we needed a place to stay the night. The airport Marriott was a welcomed sight. The front desk was friendly, they have a full service restaurant and comfortable rooms. Internet is around $13 which I wasn't going to get after I called the front desk to find out the information. But, since I was a Marriott gold member the staff called me back and said it was included as a gold member. Nice. Quick ride to the airport the next morning. Hassle free. I would recommend this airport hotel if you need to spend a night at Newark International airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott property on my way to Jamaica. This is a typical full-service Marriott property. We had no problem getting a hotel last minute. The staff was very professional and organized and made us feel welcomed. The rooms are very large and clean and I had no problem with them at all. After a long day we really did not feel like going out to get something to eat, so we ate in the grill. The food came very fast and was delicious. The only downside about this hotel was I had to stay in the lobby to get Wi-Fi. I wasn't the only one, there was about 12 other people doing the same thing. The next morning the shuttle took us right across the street to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a clean property, as can be expected from any Marriott. The gym is nicer than most, and the American Grill is a solid food outlet. Only bad part is the shuttle from the airport. It's sort of worthless because you can walk to he hotel. I was there during construction but it didn't affect anything.

Room Tip: Go with the concierge level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not the best of the Marriotts. There is only 6 suites in the whole hotel, so getting one is not likely. The workout area is on the main floor and overlooks tge pool area - nothing special there. The hotel's restaurant is adequate and shortstaffed, good but not great food on the limited menu. Our room seemed to have thinner than normal walls, you can hear people in other rooms. Also, the bed is very squeaky, it's probably been in here a while. It works for convenience, but it's not luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.