We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for a tired traveler on forced layover.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Fly
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great service for a tired traveler on forced layover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Came in from Paris. All flights to Dallas cancelled due to bad weather. Forced layover until next day. Found extremely friendly and helpful service. Room was very nice. Waiter and meal at the hotel restaurant were excellent. Only negative: having to pay for WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    447
    147
    41
    17
See reviews for
183
237
96
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with family overnight because we flew in from London one day and early out to Calgary the following day.

This hotel is about 400m from the airport. But strangely you can not walk to it! Well we did walk to it 300m through a car park and then over a barrier, onto a drive through and under a car barrier. I guess it is the local authorities, not the hotel that has prevented a simple pathway.

Instead it is a 5 minute shuttle which we took back to the airport although we waited 10 mins for it to arrive.

Room was good, air condition nicely powerful, no noise from adjacent rooms.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I go to Newark quarterly on business and we have stayed in some shady places... this Marriott is awesome and I want to stay there every time now. Very convenient to airport (some pilots even walk!) but I never heard any noise and my room faced the airport. Not a ton of selection on the restaurant menu, but what's there is good; all 4 of us liked our meals. Room was nice, good pillows, comfy bed. We ended up on concierge level. Pricey, but wow. The little concierge room has good snacks, and the brownies are delicious. Very clean, nice soap/shampoo. Thanks Marriott, I hope to be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The rooms are typical Marriott setup, bathrooms are a bit small and cramp; the art in the rooms was unique. The great thing about this hotel is the proximity to the Newark airport, and the train station to the city. I was greeted on arrival by a smile fast service; the lobby crowded, but clean and well organized despite multiple group functions occurring at one time.
Pros: Location, friendly staff, updated lobby, pool and workout room, safe and secure, no residual airport noise
Cons: Paying for parking and internet, I really hate that thought I understand the parking deal, this is why I reduce to 4 stars: Bathroom was a bit small:

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here for both business in Newark and before international flights.

Very clean , friendly staff , and huge bar with decent food.

Starbucks coffe bar in the morning and plenty of parking with shuttles to the airport.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoy our stay there. Breakfast, service and rooms were perfect. We were visiting New York and that's a good place to stay and even if it's at the Newark Airport we never heard a plane during the night! It was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, New Jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

had an opportunity to stay at this marriott and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the place which seems to be in such an ugly location. i just was not expecting what we got. the staff is so attentive and eager to please, the pool refreshing after a hectic day, the room was an ok size and very clean. you can't get a better place and so convenient to the airport. by the way, you can ask the front desk to arrange a shuttle to the airport. all in all a most pleasant surprise and a great way to get to your flight rested and well fed.

Green Features: being an avid recycler and person concerned about our environment, i am always pleased when i see a large chain like marriott take this very seriously. another plus for them
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.