We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

On our way to LA from Stockholm, Sweden we decided to stay one night where and get an afternoon and evening in NY. Easy courtesy bus from terminal B to Mariott, you see it but you do not want to walk there with all bags. Easy check-in and then a cab to lower Manhattan ca 30 mins. Nice combined in and outdoor pool to use if you have time to kill before your flight. No free wi-fi. Starbucks corner in the morning in the restaurant. Great stop-over hotel instead of staying in the apple and worrying about getting to your flight next day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    464
    156
    43
    18
See reviews for
189
251
98
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My company will occasionally host meetings at this hotel and I was able to stay a couple nights for the last meeting, even though its only about 30 minutes from my home. The lobby was under some repair or renovation, but I will excuse that for purposes of review. There is a full service restaurant on site which is a bit pricey. Elevators do require room keys to access guest room floors, this is Newark, after all. I was quite happy with the room. The reflective coated floor tiles in the bathroom will either scream clean or dirty, so seeing those used and seeing them clean is refreshing and shows a bold commitment to cleanliness. They did try to up charge $25 for parking as an incidental expense, but the company took care of that. I'm not sure if the value is good because I never saw a room rate, but the quality of the facility makes it very recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Was dissappointed to arrive after midnigh and find that there was no room service. Was given the wrong room number, and reception, while pleasant enough, were not that fussed. Cheap sound system in room, average bathroom. Not what we had hoped for at an airport hotel as a one night stop over on a busy trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Room OK, but a bit dated. Bed was good. Hotel restaurant nothing special. Within "walking distance" from terminals, but impossible to walk there. You have to take the shuttle (free).

TYpical airport hotel, but I have seen much better...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Area
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had to unexpectedly stay the night in Newark after airline schedules changed. We chose this hotel because it's a stone's throw from the airport and has a free shuttle. After a long international flight and travel hassles, coming to this hotel was a welcome end to a long day.

The staff was friendly, the room service food was excellent (shrimp cocktail, Boom Boom shrimp and chicken tenders) and we got a good night's sleep. Somehow, we didn't even hear the airplanes.

The free shuttle took us right to the terminal early in the morning without incident.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

While the Newark Airport Marriott isn't necessarily a destination in its own right, but if you have to stay in the Newark airport area, you could certainly do worse.

Check in and out was fast, friendly and efficient. My room was functional, though nothing special. The general decor and furniture felt somewhat dated, but linens all looked and felt clean and new. Water pressure was good and got hot fast. Shower head was at a reasonable height for a 6/1 dude (I often have issues with the shower hitting me around the sternum and having to squat to wash my hair).

Internet service wasn't especially fast, and I was constantly losing the wifi connection, regardless of where in the hotel I was.

Executive lounge is tiny and the hors d'oevres are decidedly mediocre. I'm a lunge-rat, but turned around, walked out, and went to the lobby bar after seeing this one.

The lobby restaurant and lounge are pretty decent for a hotel. I ate dinner at the bar and service was friendly and efficient, and my meal was quite good (salmon). Cocktails were well mixed, and staff handled the packed bar handily.

Shuttle to/from the airport runs frequently, is easy to find (not outside P4), and fast.

My only real beef is that my room key kept malfunctioning, resulting in 3 trips to the front desk, which was aggravating. I was eventually told that proximity to mobile phones or ipads have a tendency to demagnetize the cards... first time I'd encountered that issue (despite 100+ Marriott nights last year), but sure enough, I tested it and it did zap the card. Given how pretty much everyone's always got a mobile device on them, this is a dopey problem that must be really common...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's a miracle, this place is soooo quiet that you can't hear the planes. Nice digs, upscale, purchase coffee in the lobby or drink the Mr. Coffee crap in your room. No better place to stay if you have an early AM flight the next day, free shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.