We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Fly
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Magnifico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was attending a meeting here on the 22 & 23 of April and from the time I was shuttled from the airport the service here was fantastic. The shuttle driver was a happy guy greeting everyone and upon entering the hotel guests where greeted by a number of the staff and escorted to a speedy professional check-in. Despite the construction in the lobby everything was clean and pleasant. These people know what they are doing in that they where there when you needed them and they gave you your privacy when you didn't. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Honestly superior service.
Now an explanation of the title of my review. I left my brand new gortex (expensive jacket) in the restaurant and then shuttled away to the airport for my return flight to Atlanta and was on the plane before realizing I'd left it. Today I called the hotel and the manager Mike Magnifico (lives up to His name) went personally on a search for my jacket, recovered it, called me back within an hour of my inquiry and is shipping it to me. As a traveler many of you know how important it is to have this kind of response when you're in need. This hotel and Mr. Magnifico are both Magnificent!
Thank You Mike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    418
    137
    40
    16
See reviews for
173
226
94
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great place to arrive on a late night flight as it is 2 minutes shuttle from the airport terminal. Rooms are standard but clean and comfortable. Service at the restaurant was friendly and fun and good for a family stay as well. Shuttle frequency was sometimes erratic - but otherwise fine to get to the airport terminals of the train station.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 10 years. The entire staff is truly beyond compare! They all go out of their way for you, nothing is too big or too small for them to do for you. Marriott has trained and hand picked each of these employees and has chosen an excellent work force. I was constantly treated like family. When I would come in with a cold, the front desk would send up homemade chicken noodle soup! Everyone makes you feel special, like one of their family. The hotel itself is so comfortable, the beds are amazing and the food, phenomenal! The rooms are spotless and quiet, perfectly set up for work or a great nights sleep! I have been at many 5 star resorts around the world, this Marriott has every every one of them beat!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was a die hard ewr marriott fan and stayed dozens of times due to its location right opposite Ewr. I am never stayimg there again since shuttle both times took 25 minutes waiting each way. its faster to get to a hotel near newark penn by taxi than wait for shuttle and took 30 minutes to cross the 100m distance across the airport using marriott shuttle.

i am elite but am NEVER going back to this hotel again. This used to be my top choice earlier, but high occupancy has made them complacent and this critical time to reach hotel is being mismanaged.

when i complained to duty manager, she seemed very calm and appeared indifferent and gave me programmed msg of how these shuttles keep roaming across terminals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I arrived in NJ with a Sunday to myself before I needed to report to work.
I picked the Newark Airport Marriott solely for its location and the fact that it has a shuttle to take you to the adjacent airport. And from there I could take public transportation to NYC.
It’s a typical Marriott; clean, friendly, well run and reasonably priced with a good restaurant.
So for anyone contemplating a stay at this Marriott who wants to get to New York City here is the route I took:
Marriott Hotel Shuttle to Airport Building P4
AirTrain from Building P4 to the Rail Link (You need a NJ Transit ticket for the next leg which you can buy from vending machines before you get on the AirTrain or at the Rail Link station.)
Rail Link Station to New York Penn Station. (Go to the Waiting Room at the bottom of the escalator and check the monitor for the next train.)
Penn Station is underneath Madison Square Garden, is within walking distance of Times Square and includes access to the Subway which will get you just about anywhere you’d want to go. I took the Blue E train Uptown to 5th Avenue to visit MOMA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Ok this is not the place to stay for your next week vacation. However if you are looking for a quiet place to rest whilst in-between flights in Newark, this is the place. Our family stayed in 3 different rooms and we all remarked in particular the high comfort of the beds. The rooms are not luxurious nor superiorly decorated, just standard. But they are quiet.The other point I would like to underline is the good service, people are nice (sorry not always used to that in NY). For example we were a bit short with our schedule for checking in the morning and they had a private shuttle (free of charge) taking us directly to the terminal.
If I need to stay in between flights would I go back: definitely yes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were on our way to Barbados and had an overnight stop in Newark/NYC. We stayed here, really close to airport for early flight the next morning. Hotel has a free shuttle that picks you up/back. Easy check in. Great room. They even give you train info on how to get into NYC. I would stay here again early flight out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Green Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.