We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance from airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Parking
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Walking distance from airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a great choice for our layover in Newark. It is a short walk from the airport across the parking lot to the front of the hotel. Service was very attentive. They had a buffet for SuperBowl Sunday which was restocked frequently. The pool and exercise facilities were well equipped and clean. The in room internet was fast and the views of Manhattan were good.

Our reservation somehow generated a double billing but this has now been resolved in a prompt manner after the fact. If you have a late night flight in or early flight out, this hotel can't be beat in the area in my opinion.

Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking the airport and Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    475
    160
    47
    19
See reviews for
195
259
101
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff, esp. the shuttle driver, was nice. The room was clean, quiet & comfortable, & the electronics could all be operated without an engineering degree. Convenient return to Newark's Airport Hell. If I get stuck there again I will go to this hotel first.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wow -for the money we paid this room it was SMALL!! Glad we only had one night there. The room was nice, clean, comfortable bed, everything was simply nice but SMALL. The front desk staff was great in helping us with finding food to eat since the hotel restaurant was already closed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel was clean, and economical with decent beds and roomy rooms. The midnight female staff member was rude and downright ignorant. The enquiry i made was reasonable but the staff member raised her voice and was confrontational. The buffet is average at best. Some staff requires additional customer relation training. Anyone who argues and raises there voice when a guest enquires about simple guest requests with information in support of a request should not expect to be berated by the front desk staff. The manager on duty was put in a uncomfortable situation by the staff member, having to apoligize. Would not stay again because of front desk staff. Other hotels in same area with same value and services/location. Stayed as a group of 10 business travellers with negative reviews. The 2nd day manager was better in the early morning (after 8am)of Saturday, February 23, 13

Room Tip: Check your rewards before choosing this Marriot. Staff is not so nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had an early morning flight and decided to stay the night before our flight at this hotel. The hotel is literally in the middle of the airport and offers 24 hour shuttle service to and from the terminals. The hotel offered a rate with 8 days of parking included which made parking/staying reasonable.

The rooms were clean and soundproof. We had a room on the 10th floor overlooking the airport and we could not hear any outside noise.

The hotel also has an indoor/outdoor pool, fitness area, a bar and restaurant with the food being decent for a quick meal.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel if needing to fly in/out of Newark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I just spent the last two nights at the Marriott at Newark airport for the first time in a number of years. In fact I ran into another guest in the elevator who said it had been 10 years since he'd been there, but he was sure nothing had changed, not even the bedding. My room was fine. My gripe was at breakfast. It was served at the hotel bar. The standard Marriott buffet was on catering Warner's laid out temporarily on tables or on a rolling cool table. I opted for ordering from the menu. They brought me a pot of coffee right away. The problem came when I put some cream in the cup and looked for my spoon to stir it. I unrolled the silverware and only found a knife and a fork. I tried the other place setting at my table. Same thing. I tried one more place setting at another table. I finally had to go up to the bar and get one from an employee. I guess not giving out spoons must be a cost cutting measure. But I guess if Marriott is that desperate to cut costs at breakfast, it makes me worried where else they're scrimping.

I think I'll try someplace else next time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Why travel to any other hotel if you have to stay at Newark airport. The perfect hotel to stay when you land in New Jersey. The restaurant was open at 11:30 PM to serve dinner and the room was great. They gave me a king-size room which was very clean the hotel had great amenities including a gym and pool

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.