We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newark Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Fly
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Newark Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I always try and stay here before catching the early flight back to the UK next morning.Rooms are quite small but in good condition with comfortable beds. The bar is excellent, a great place to chill out for an evening the steak is as good as anywhere in the USA. Last time we stayed I made a mistake and missed the concierge lounge breakfast. Despite it being my fault the staff arranged for us to eat breakfast downstairs for free. Its everything you could want from an airport hotel and often available at good prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    445
    147
    41
    17
See reviews for
183
234
96
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Flew in the night before a business meeting and figured the Marriott at Newark airport would deliver the standard Marriott experience. And while the property was basically OK, there were so many little things wrong, it affected my opinion of the property pretty strongly.

First of all, the air conditioning in the room didn't really function. Oh, it blew air and made noise, but the temperature in the room remained steady at "sweltering". The internet access was non-existent, in that, it was there, but I couldn't connect to any thing. The foam pillows I asked them to bring were extremely flat and covered with thick plastic sleeves, like they had been repurposed from some creepy hospital. The curtains were broken, letting in light that seemed to stab me in the eye every time I rolled over. (I fixed it with a chair pillow.) In the morning, I discovered two shampoos, but no conditioner.

Does this make me sound like one of those super-picky reviewers for whom everything must be perfect? Probably. I'm not normally that way. I guess I just expected the standard superlative Marriott experience and was disappointed to find all these gotchas. Other reviewers seems to like it, so maybe I hit the place on a bad night. Who knows. But next time I'm in Newark, I'll probably take the shuttle down to the Renaissance around the corner instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Convenience hotel located at the airport. Quiet, nice amenities, rooms where clean, and in good condition. Very Clean all around. Excellent service from the moment i walked in to my departure. Very friendly personal all around. Price was reasonable for the area. I will recommended this hotel in have to stay close to Newark Airport

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here few times. Last time with husband for few days in February. Very nice hotel, very clean, helpfull stuff. Comfy beds. Close to airport but very quiet. Close to NYC but reasonable price.

I would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a top-end hotel should be - efficient, quiet, comfortable, clean. Nice veterans' discount. The in-house restaurant is excellent as well. Parking is a bit dear. Frequent shuttle to the airport. Would be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only reason I didn't give this a five-star stay is that I was only here for a couple of hours and didn't really get to fully experience it. We got here ridiculously late on a Friday night / Saturday morning before an EARLY flight for Christmas week, and the proximity to the airport was the reason we didn't just drive from home. I checked in half-delirious from fatigue and the counter staff, usually not razor-sharp at places at that hour, were alert, friendly, and more than willing to lend extra brain power to make sure I got settled in. We got on the shuttle, jetted out for a week, and then came back to discover that I didn't put in the for the proper parking program. Instead of jacking me for the extra $100+ on parking, the woman patiently explained the program that works for the trip that I took, and then gave me not only that rate, but an extra discount on top of it as a 'happy new year' gift. It's a gesture like that that will retain my loyalty for life!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable & quiet. Decent fitness room. Outrageous prices in the on site restaurant. No coffee or breakfast provided. The only major problem was getting the shuttle at the "rush" hour of 7am- there was a crush and no real line, and some people who had been waiting got left for the next shuttle. (Sometimes it pays to be pushy.) the hotel should have a queue number system so it's patrons don't have to sharpen their elbows to get a ride to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.