We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Williamsburg, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights on 5/18 and 5/19. The staff was very friendly and helpful and understanding. The gift shop staff was friendly. The only issue we had was with the room service/on site restaurant. Room was clean and had a great view toward NYC. Couldn't have stayed in a better place.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    111
    102
    39
    23
See reviews for
65
89
43
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I booked a night at Ramada Newark for a quick stay (just for over night before my flight) through a 3rd party website called 'hotel.com' and made a full payment 2 months prior to our stay to secure the room.

On the checkin day we even called 1 hour prior to our arrival to notify them to avoid any possible hassles, and they didnt mention anything.

When we got there after paying $50 taxi they said they cannot give us the room we have fully paid to secure, because they overbooked people. A friendly young man apologised and told us to wait until he contacts other hotels to find another room and that Ramada will cover the cost. So we waited and waited.


After we waited over an hour
I went back to the reception desk to complain. A middle-aged Indian man told us Ramada cannot do anything so we should contact 'hotel.com' to get a refund. No apologies. I complained again that why I should bother the 3rd party website when it is Ramada's fault clearly. Then he told us to come back early next morning to see his manager to sort out the refund. Then where are we supposed to stay till the next morning? After I got really mad and yelled at them then he finally made few phone calls to other hotels and told us to follow the driver, again no apologies and no explanation of what is going on.

The driver took us to a different hotel and they charged US for the room. We got charged double and went through all the waiting and troubles with no apologies. So now who should I go to get my money back?

Anyway The worst thing about Ramada is they do not care once they got the money from you!!

We are from New Zealand and travel overseas once every year. This is the first time that has happened to us and this is the worst services we received from any hotels. Check out my other reviews they are all positive ones only.

Because of these terrible terrible experiences we have had at Ramada Newark. WE WILL NEVER STAY AT ANY RAMADAS NO MATTER HOW CHEAP THE ROOM IS.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was ok, but bath tub was rusted n squeaks alot whn u step in. The room door deadbolt does not latch, n the door has alot of play. And on top of the max amount of money they charge for the rooms, as a paying guess they charge for parking!! Will not stay at the hotels in the vicinity of the airport again, until this ridiculous parking charge is stop.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza At Newark Airport.

Thank you for your feedback. Our sincerest apologies for the disconnect you encountered with your room, we rectified the disconnect when it was reported to us.I am sorry you do not approve of the parking fee, we charge the lowest parking fee at EWR.

Thank you for your business.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly front desk,nice cleaning lady,pleasant workers and response very fast when you have issue.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza At Newark Airport.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am glad you were able to experience great customer service from my Team. We are very proud of our Team. We strive for memorable experience. We hope to see you very soon.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel for business and the Ramada Plaza has exceeded my expectations, not just in service and accommodations but also when it comes to the friendly Staff. The staff has been helpful and accommodating on every stay, you would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling for business as well leisure. It is conveniently located and by staying often I've seen that management is consistently upgrading the rooms throughout the hotel. They want your business and it shows, give them a shot and I believe you will be pleased with your experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza At Newark Airport.

Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate your loyalty . Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make all of your future stays exceptional.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed one night, and well… quite disappointed due to smaller points. This is what it is:

POSITIVE POINTS:
To start with, the shuttle service is convenient and well organized. This is a good location for an overnight stay… no more than that.

Nice walking into the lobby, feeling welcome by the friendly staff, and reasonable modern looking lobby area. Check-in was a breeze, and off I went to the room.

The room itself was a decent size, and very comfortable, with a warm feeling inside. Bed was comfortable, and choice of pillows is always welcome, as is the seperate working área..

I must mention the cleaning staff, since they do an excellent job at maintaining this place impeccable.

The bar downstairs is really nice, giving you a feel of a pleasant sport bar… if it were not for the staff that I will mention below. Good place to sit and talk to people, in a pleasant atmosphere.

NEGATIVE POINTS:
So… yes, this is where I am completely let down.

I travelled on business, staying overnight at this hotel. As I had travelled for a week in Mexico, I was hoping to catch up on my work in this place, with a backlog of e-mails to reply to. Complementary internet – so they say – is free… but (yes, there is a BUT)… IT DIDN’T WORK. Well, I shouldn’t say that… let me rephrase, it worked for 2 minutes… and stopped completely. I tried the various options to connect to the other lines they offered, just to feel frustrated each time, since NON of them worked. I mean… this is a hotel offering this service, just to come into the room and have no internet. Look… even cheap motels offer a service THAT WORKS… not in this place.

At night, I had some loud neighbors. I could hear their conversation in their room… as if it were in mine. Fortunately, they did not go on all night, but walls are ridiculously thin, and management should try fixing this.

Although the room is nice, as mentioned above… I feel that this hotel is becoming dated, and in desperate need of some sort of renovation… especially soundproofing the rooms.

Lastly, I will mention that I enjoyed myself in the Sports Bar downstairs… but really let down by the arrogance and unfriendly bartender. No attempt at all to be friendly. I do not like over friendly staff… but some level of professionalism should be introduced to this young lady working there. She definitely needs training in customer care.

Not the hotel’s fault, but far from dining and bar activity. Minimum USD. 25,00 taxi ride to anywhere decent.

SUMMING UP:
You ask me if I will return, and my answer is simple: NO… not with these negative points floating around. It saddens me to say this, since this hotel has great potential… just needs management to iron out these negative points. MANY options around this area, for similar prices.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza At Newark Airport.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am going to make sure that my Team read your comments so we can attend to the issues and concerns you expressed to us. Clean rooms, friendly and attentive customer service are very important to us. We value and appreciate your comments, we hope we get a another chance to accommodate you. There is always room for improvement, your comments will help us improve our product.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.