We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for park and fly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    97
    35
    20
See reviews for
59
82
40
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We missed our flight connection due to Airline being delayed which meant the Airline gave us a voucher for the Ramada Plaza. We rang for shuttle and were informed the shuttle would arrive in 15mins which it did. After a long journey from Washington where our flight was delayed for over a hour we were glad to find somewhere to get some sleep before our flight next evening. We found the check-in staff very helpful and the room King bed most appealing,although the walls seem very thin as the baby next door was crying and could be heard quite well along with the conversation of the parents but as this was around 11pm no doubt the baby was overtired and soon settled. We would recommend the Ramada Plaza for an overnight stay. We would commend both night staff for their courtesy and friendly welcome and departure at a time when our tempers were on edge due to our Airline delay and subsequent missed flight. Unfortunately we are in agreement with travelinbuddies about United Airlines but not the Hotel which was fine.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza At Newark Airport.

We appreciate and value your business. Thank you for your feedback and I am very delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you are in our area.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for one night, courtesy of United Airlines, when I was unable to meet my connection to England. Whilst appreciating that airlines need to control costs, this was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

The entire building is in need of complete renovation and my room, which was an oversized cupboard, was poorly equipped with garish ancient furniture. The room wasn't dirty but neither was it spotless. The corridors smelled and there was rubbish and litter everywhere.

There was a flat screen TV in the room and a refrigerator. The fridge was turned off but the TV worked well. WIFI in the room didn't work but I could get a connection in the lobby.

Staff were barely adequate but hardly welcoming.

There is a reasonably priced restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: There are many other hotels in the area to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza at Newark Airport.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide the best service and environment of comfort and value to our guests. i am very concerned with some of your comments as they do not reflect our property and services. I am sorry to hear that your flight was cancelled and you had to stay with us . Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a brief stay at this hotel. I checked in around 11:00 pm and checked out at 4:30 am. Room was clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is good, close to airport.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza at Newark Airport.

We appreciate your positive feedback and we value your business. Thank you for staying with us.
Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was sent here by my airline when my flight was cancelled. It is shabby and the hallways smelled of cigarette smoke but the room itself did not smell and I had an excellent greek salad from the lobby. All in all, not a bad place to be stuck. There is a lot of coming and going at all hours so a bit of noise, but not as bad as I expected.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

UNITED AIRLINES picked this dump because we missed our connection because they never once had an ontime flight. We stayed here one night until we could catch the first flight out the next morning. This place makes their money off of United. There was a big bathroom with one 4x4 round light and a 40 watt bulb in the middle of it. No way you could see anything!!!! I would not have taken a shower if my life depended on it. I laid on top of the sheet fully clothed. We had no luggage as United had lost it. Whatever you do, skip this place and if you ever fly DO NOT FLY UNITED!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza At Newark Airport.

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write us a review.We apologize for the disconnect during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests.I can certainly relate to the distress situation you endured. I am sorry to hear we fall short of your expectations. Your comments are noted and are appreciated. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've often stayed at this hotel. It is close to the airport and is very good value for somewhere that is relatively easily accessible to Manhattan - shuttle to the airport rail connection. There are regular trains and you're within 30 minutes of Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza At Newark Airport.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback, we truly value your business. We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.