We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    79
    82
    28
    16
See reviews for
48
59
30
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nothing great. Not dirty, but rooms and overall hotel could be cleaner,. Bed was comfortable. Restaurant average as well. Ridiculous they charge $15 to park...In an outside lot. Not impressed at all. We had to attend an event at this hotel, so decided to stay overnight, Our room was on the 8th floor which was MUCH nicer and cleaner than our relatives on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are MUCH cleaner and nicer than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There were so many small problems with this hotel by the time you left it was just a big problem.
The workout room is very cold, the bathroom very small and not kept up well, though I had the heating set at 73 in the room it was freezing, the mattress was comfortable but the sheets did not fit on the bed and therefore kept coming off. I took stairs instead of elevator but clearly stairwells had not been vacuumed in months or years. They do not slide the reciept under the door in the morning meaning that you have to check out to get a reciept. When I went down in the morning however just one person working and long line. That meant I waiting 10 minutes and therefore missed the hotel shuttle and had to wait another 1/2 hour.

Paid a little less for this hotel so I knew would be no free breakfast (and your only option is hotel restaruant because nothing else is within walking distance). But this is not worth saving a few dollars. They do not focus on service hear.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I really bashed this place in a review a few years ago but, wow, it's gotten so much better! (I went back because of a voucher from United that specified this hotel.) I'm happy to report that it is now is up to the standards of what I expect of a Ramada. You can still see traces of the old moribund hotel but a major renovation has pretty much covered it all over with nice fresh furnishings, paint, art, etc. Not surprisingly, the staff morale also was better and they did their job in a friendly, efficient way.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been assigned this hotel after helping United out with an oversold flight, and can only suggest anybody to stay somewhere else if you have a remote chance. Shuttle bus took ages to arrive, thus was packed to the gills so people had to stand during the ride, and since we did not get our bags back we tried to get toothbrushes and combs - hotel had none of these available and only pointed to the gift-shop where the normally free items were in the $5 range each.

In contrast to many other Ramada hotels breakfast is not included with your rate, and at $15 it is on the same level as many much higher quality hotels next to it. Finally the rooms are OK, but the AC unit is very noisy and prevented us from sleeping for quite a while.

I would normally not consider this hotel, and will obviously never be back.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Pete from Germany,

thank you for taking time to relay your experience about our hotel as feedback always help us continuously understand how we can best serve our guests. We are sorry to hear about the oversold flight, it is unfortunate that the rare last minute situations at the airport does create over-stress our transportation crew. We always have at least 2 shuttles running 24/7 from/to the airport, and only during abnormalities will there be situations where a guest may not have a seat inside the shuttle.

We apologize regarding the noise of the AC unit as our guests' sleep quality is of utmost importance to our team. please do not hesitate to contact the front desk with any such issues if you shall decide to give our hotel another chance.

Jonathan Lin
jlin@friendwell.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I took a cruise out of Bayonne in late Nov. 2014 and stayed at the Ramada Plaza. We had booked their cruise & stay special for about $190 through Trinity Reservation. We drove up from Washington, DC, left our car at the hotel, and had the round-trip shuttle to the port. It was convenient, and we got everything we needed.

The hotel is a bit hard to find from the turnpike, so be sure you have directions. We parked the car right in front of the hotel entrance. The parking area is very secure. The hotel is modern, and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent. As soon as you arrive, be sure you tell the front desk that you're getting the shuttle and when, and it doesn't hurt to remind them the next morning. Save any receipts they give you, for when you leave. We didn't have to wait long either going to or coming from the port.

We had arrived late at the hotel, so we ordered a take-out pizza from the hotel restaurant that we ate in our room. It was about $12 and though not big, it was enough for what we wanted. We were only there for the night.

The hotel offered shuttles into New York too. You can call them for more info. I would use this package again if sailing out of Bayonne.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.