We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room fine but no shuttle for return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    109
    98
    36
    21
See reviews for
63
83
42
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Was stuck in Newark because of a flight cancelation. The front desk attendant was not helpful at all. He directed me to another attendant who was very busy and briefly walked outside. I just wanted to know when the next shuttle would arrive and to hand them my room key. I could not even get the words out before he directed me to the other front desk clerk. I assumed he did not hear me. He just stood there as the lobby filled with people not even once attempting to help for five minutes. All I wanted was to turn in the key and know when the shuttle would arrive. When the shuttle did arrive he directed me to the shuttle and held his hand out for the key. That means that he heard me and refused to help. I am pretty sure that he must have been about to get off, but he could have helped make the transition smoother by helping with checkouts and basic information.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

Thank you very much for your review. We value your business and are always striving to enhance our service. I am sorry that our guest service associate did not make an effort to assist you. Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you,

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel does charge for breakfast, but it is very good. I enjoyed this hotel the beds were nice and the rooms were awesome and had a lot of space. Very nice hotel to stay at if visiting NYC. Good for group traveling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

Thank you for your review and your business. We appreciate the detailed review. We look forward to have you stay with us in the near future.

Thank you,

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel offers most of the amenities. A bit difficult to reach from the highway. Breakfast is not included. In addition, they charge an additional fee for parking! There are a number of hotels in the area that do not charge parking fee and some include breakfast. I have stayed at the great majority of the hotels close to the airport. This rates Average! Best part was the staff was accommodating.

Room Tip: There are hotels much more convenient to the airport especially if you are coming by car. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

Thank you for your review and your business. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and service. We do charge for parking and breakfast. Hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you,

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Blazing fast check-in. Hand them your voucher, they hand you a key. They didn't say hello, ask me my name and barely looked at me but you know what? That was just fine after spending hours in the airport. I just wanted to get to my room. The room was small but comfortable for a single night. I wouldn't want to stay here more than a night but seems their primary purpose is to host cancelled flight victims. Shuttle bus drivers were very nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

Thank you for your comment and review. I am sorry to hear the Front Office Team did not acknowledged you and did not greet you properly. That is not our standard at The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport. We value your business.

Thank you,

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Thanks to a delayed flight and missed connection, we were put up here overnight by the airline. We had a long wait for the hotel shuttle bus from the airport - we must have just missed the previous bus and stood around in the freezing cold for nearly half an hour. (We could have waited inside but had to keep popping in and out to find out the destination of each bus that arrived.)The other hotel buses came and went several times during our wait - had I realised the hotel was next door to the Hilton Doubletree, I might have been tempted to board their bus instead! When he arrived, the driver was very courteous. Check in was highly efficient and our room was well equipped with 2 queen size beds, coffee maker, fridge and fluffy towels. The decor was a little tired but a blow heater had been switched on making the room snug and cozy. We were too tired to eat and had to check out again at 04.30, so we used the airline food and drink vouchers on a couple of beers in the friendly bar. Check out was efficient but there was quite a large group of us waiting for the early shuttle bus and it was clear we would not all fit on one bus. We were relieved to find they laid on additional buses so we all got away on time.

Room Tip: We were just happy to have a comfy bed to lay our weary heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

Thank you for your very detailed review. It has provided us with some valuable information. We added more shuttles and drivers to better accommodate our guests. I am sorry you had to wait for the shuttle. I will certainly make sure we do better. Thank you for your business .

Thank you,

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.