We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bar was so welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book in Advance; Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Newark
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The bar was so welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Arriving late from the UK this hotel was exactly what was needed - prompt hotel shuttle from the airport with friendly driver - clean and comfortable room - friendly staff at reception and a very welcome G & T in the bar. After travelling for 12 hours what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

We appreciate your business and thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us.


Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    175
    170
    87
    74
See reviews for
136
137
72
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in here in newark while visiting New York City. The hotel is everything that you would expect from a well known hotel such as the Ramada. The lobby & front desk people are warm and welcoming. We stayed in a one bedroom with a HUGE bathroom! The room was very neat. The bed was extremly comfy. Room had a mini fridge and coffee maker. Desk table. No mircowave. Had a flat screen tv and a lovely view. You really can't beat this room for the price. There is a shuttle that runs every 30 mins that takes you from the airport to the hotel and vice versa. At the airport it is easy to hop the air train to get to NY. The only thing about it is you will pay like $12 everytime you "hop the bridge" from Newark to NY (or vice versa) by train and a few bucks as u take the NY subway through the city however it beats sittin in NY Traffic for hours! And You just can't stay anywhere decent in NY for the price of this hotel. All in all, it is the perfect stay for visiting NY. You won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: The only thing about this location is there are no eateries or really anything that within walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

We appreciate you taking time to write a review. At the Ramada Plaza Newark Airport we strive to exceed expectations. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.


Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

If all you need is a place to sleep this will do but if you are looking for more go elsewhere.

You can tell by the carpet when exiting the elevator that the finishing of a renovation was not a good quality. Paint missing on the door. Drawers smelled new but were very difficult to close. Coffee is quite possibly the worst I've had for in room coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is being renovated and the lobby is in full construction, which the hotel indicates clearly.

I hate to complain, but after a day I found that I was really not pleased with the room (not yet renovated) and a number of other issues. I wrote a courteous email to the general manager. Within a couple of hours he called me apologizing for the inconvenience and thanking me for bringing these matters to his attention. He offered to immediately move me to one of the newly renovated rooms, and made a generous gesture to compensate for the inconvenience. The duty manager called me a few minutes later and I was moved to a room that had just been renovated.

I received 4 calls during the afternoon to enquire whether everything was to my liking, which it absolutely was.

The newly renovated rooms are extremely nice and surely the rest of the renovation will be of the same level. The hotel offers excellent value, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

While everything was not fine to start with, the management promptly and adequately reacted when I contacted them and made this into a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

We value your business and thank you for taking time to submit a detailed review of your stay. We are pleased to have you as our guest and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon.

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel has great 24/7 airport shuttle service; hotel is quite close so it is very convenient; nice restaurant and a snack shop. A comfortable transition hotel for fliers overnighting in Newark International Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

Thank you very much for your comments and your business. I am pleased to hear that the service and accomodations met your expectations. We hope to see you soon.

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn
Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.