We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramada Plaza expereience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    227
    217
    103
    85
See reviews for
169
174
92
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice location to the city. Hotel has a shuttle to the Newark airport that can also has a train that takes you to Penn Station. Hotel room are not that great. Bathtub wouldn't hold water in it. They also only gave us 1 wash cloth for 4ppl.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

We appreciate your comment. I am glad our shuttle was helpful to you . I apologize that only a set of towels were left in your room. We usually replenish towels based on number of guests in the room. I will certainly address with my team. Thank you for your feedback.

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was sent there via United Airlines when a flight was cancelled. I got in at 2 a.m., and thankfully didn't see how filthy the room was until the morning. Ugh...What are they paying these cleaners for? They obviously don't clean. I had to move a night stand because I dropped something, and there was GARBAGE behind the stand. Everywhere was filthy..I am disgusted, and I am writing United to change where they send people. I have had to stay in dumps driving across America in my younger days, and NOTHING was this filthy..I couldn't bear to look at the mattress...I got up, showered and got out of there as fast as I could.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here..it's filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza.

On behalf of my entire team I would like to offer a sincere apology for our service failures during your stay. We have a hard working and highly trained Housekeeping team. We demand and expect a very high level of service. We inspect all rooms to make sure they are guest ready.

We are very sorry for the experience and appreciate that you expressed them to us. Your comments will truly help us do better.

Thank you,

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Okay so the hotel itself isn't little, but ridiculously tall and apparently the stairs are really hard to find, which would be handy in case of a fire(!) The decor was horrid, nasty shades of brown and cream like the entire building hadn't left the 1970s.

The cleaning staff were very inconsistent, one night they'd replace towels and cups and coffee, the next they'd only replace one of the three, or on a couple of occasions they just re-rolled the same old towels to make it look like they'd been replaced.

The shuttle service was terrible, the drivers miserable and unwelcoming, on a service which only takes you as far as the airport without so much of a bit of direction in finding your way from there.

Being in the middle of nowhere and walking not being an option, given the highways surrounding the hotel, in case of hunger your only option is the mini-shop or restaurant. In all fairness, Teddy's Bar and Grill provides quality food at reasonable prices and is staffed by very friendly people, but it's run by an entirely different company to the hotel - so that doesn't count for very much in terms of the hotel's credit.

I detested my stay here and would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
While we were very pleased to see our reputation for hospitality and cleanliness preceded your visit to our hotel. I certainly regret that we did not demonstrate that when servicing your room. I would like to apologize again for this unacceptable incident.

You also commented on the fact that the stairs are really hard to find, and stated the stairs would be hard to find in case of fire. Not only that there are unobstructed clear and distinct signs all over, we have a life and safety brigade that monitors that for us as well as a life and Safety company that assures that we are in compliance with all Federal and Local laws. Our life and safety record here is impeccable. We value the safety of our guests as well as employees.

In regards to the complimentary shuttle, unfortunately it's for transportation to and from Newark Airport only. Our Drivers and Concierge go above and beyond to demonstrate high levels of hospitality and provide the best directions to and from all points. We encourage guests to visit our restaurant as well as all local restaurants in the ironbound section of Newark.

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently spent two nights here with a tour group. We came in from New York City the first night at around 11 pm. I don't think the bathroom had been cleaned other than new towels and toiletries being put there. I spent some time using the disinfectant wipes I brought to clean the previous guest's hairs off the sink, shower and toilet. That was not my idea of a good stay. On the up side, the breakfast was very good! The first day there was louder rock music blaring in the dining room but on the second day it was more pleasant. The noise level at night was good and bed was comfortable. One of the overhead lamps in my room was missing a light bulb on the second night. I was only given one or two fresh washcloths on the second day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback related to your recent stay at our property, the Ramada Plaza.
We take guest satisfaction very seriously and do everything possible to make each and every one of our guests are comfortable and satisfied during their stay with us. I apologize we did not meet your expectations.

If you wish to speak with me, please reach out at egaston@menlohotels.com. I would very much appreciate if you can afford me the opportunity to speak with you. While we acknowledge and accept responsibility for the the disconnect you may have experienced during your stay with us, our team is proud of our service record and we remain focused on providing the highest level of value to our customers. As a hotel that enjoys a high occupancy rate , we pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable accommodations to our guests.

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.