We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel with reasonable rates at a convenient...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book in Advance; Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Newark
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    174
    169
    87
    74
See reviews for
136
137
71
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son and I were sent to this hotel after getting bumped on an airline flight. The hotel has a shuttle that takes you to and from the airport. Both shuttle drivers barely acknowledged us and when my teen son said "Thank you" when we were dropped off at the airport this morning, that driver didn't even respond at all. The room itself was pleasant- I liked the decor. However, the hallways were dreadful and depressing. My son thought it was creepy. The view from our room was literally looking down on two huge full trash dumpsters. I guess they are in the process of remodeling. We ate at the restaurant and my potato skins were brown/grey inside rather than whitish. I had to send them back and was told that was how they were supposed to be. I ordered something else. I killed an ant in the bathroom as well. Fortunately, we didn't pay for this room, but I still would not recommend it even as a bargain. Maybe it will be vastly improved after the remodel?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Ramada Plaza Hotel.

I am sorry we were unable to meet your lodging needs during your time of distress. I understand how difficult it can be to be distressed from a flight. I am glad you enjoyed the decor of the room. I am sorry you did not like the decor of the corridors, we decorated in bright colors for the carpet and neutrals for the walls to give a warm feeling, I understand it may not be everyones taste and respect your opinion.

I will discuss with the F&B department about the appetizer you ordered, I assure all ingredients are fresh and food handling is above and beyond code.

Thank you again for the opportunity. We look forward to the completion of our much anticipated top to bottom renovations and hope you give us another try.

Bret Esbrandt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Was going on an overnight with my crew and when I saw Ramada I was thinking the worst as the name has declined over the years. The hotel is under renovation but looks like the lobby and a few floors are left to be done. My room was clean and very comfortable and nicely sized with a very comfortable bed and while the view of the rail yard wasn't the ideal view I didn't hear the trains and frankly when staying at an airport hotel you are not staying there for the view. The restaurant was nice and had a lot of choices to chose from. One tip if leaving early in the morning be early for the shuttle because it fills up fast. Staff was pleasant and while this trip was business if I needed a place by the EWR airport I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic review.

My team and I at The Ramada Plaza are happy we were able to meet your lodging needs. The much anticipated and needed top to bottom renovations are almost complete, with the remainder of the lobby and restaurant ready to break ground, we are a month away and very excited to unveil the evolution of The Ramada Plaza.

We hope you visit us again, it was our pleasure to serve you.

Bret Esbrandt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my three nights stay at Ramada Plaza, Newark. The hotel is modest and located not too far from the Path station. However, I was dissapointed by the gym facilitity. It needs a serious upgrade!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ramada Plaza Hotel.

I appreciate the feedback regarding your stay at our hotel, I am happy we were able to meet your lodging needs. As part of our renovations and refresh we will be adding new gym equipment very soon.

Thank you again, it was our pleasure to serve you.

Bret Esbrandt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I love the accessible shuttle for the hotel the employees were extremely kind they assisted with the luggage I enjoyed my stay and the only reason IM rating 4 out of 5 is because IM paralyzed traveling alone and the roll in shower had a small external shower chair I needed a bench like they have at motel 6 so I wasn't able to shower the chair was too dangerous to Tranter to

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review of The Ramada Plaza Hotel.

I am very happy we were able to meet your travel needs and the accessible shuttle service we provide to our guests was helpful in making your trip a little easier.

Thank you for your feedback about the roll in shower. I will look into and make the necessary revisions to the bathroom to better accommodate our vauled guests with special needs.

Thank you again for staying with us, it was our pleasure to serve you.

Bret Esbrandt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn
Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.