We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newark
New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stay at this hotel almost every weekend. The rooms are always very clean, bed is big and comforable but it is the staff at this hotel that makes us keep coming back. Christina works in the restaurant and she is always very friendly, courteous and professional. She remembers us by name and we look forward to seeing her in the restaurant. Nora works in the convenience store and she is very sweet and helpful if we forget to pack something, she will find it for us. The Housekeeping staff are very friendly (wish I took their names down) they are very accomodating with extra towels, soap etc right away. The Hotel is a nice stay but it's the people that work there that make the difference for us and we enjoy staying there.

Room Tip: The hotel is overall very quiet as we stay in different rooms, different floors. This is a non-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience staying at The Ramada Plaza Hotel.

I would like to thank you for choosing us as your home away from home and getaway location. Our team strives to provide 5 star service, Cristina embraces that philosophy and is a shining star in our F&B department, thank you for recognizing her and the remainder of the Hotel team.

We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    228
    219
    103
    85
See reviews for
169
175
92
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent two nights here for meetings. The meetings were also held at the hotel.

It seems this hotel is currently being renovated. I was in a renovated room and it was nice and clean. A colleague was in a non-renovated room and found it to be quite worn out. One thing with my room was that the bathtub didn't drain while I was showering--very gross.

As for facilities, the hotel is rather worn. The meeting rooms uncomfortable (awful chairs), stuffy, and the wifi in the meeting rooms was very intermittent (worked fine in the lobby and room).

The restaurant is closed off, but the bar was OK--standard for hotels.

Would I be back? Maybe for a night stay (if its a good price), but not for meeting!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Ramada Plaza Hotel.

As noticed we are in the process of renovating and refreshing all areas of the hotel. I apologize for the plumbing issue in the room, we have looked into this and rectified I am sorry this occurred during your visit. As part of the refresh the meeting rooms will be updated and freshened to better accommodate our guests expectations.

I do hope you give us another try as we continue to evolve into the great hotel our guests and team deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and quiet, comfortable beds... Those are the pluses and you should expect that from a Ramada Plaza. I stayed here for 12 days. The wifi service worked for maybe two days for a couple hours a day. I would constantly call down to check on it every day and every day they said the tech was going to be coming in that night to look into it....I'm not buying it. And the front desk attendants were no help and were in fact rude with the exception of the gentleman who works overnights. He was quite kind.
They do not offer ESPN as a channel for their cable service, so if you are planning to watch the game you are forced to go to the bar downstairs and pay for overpriced drinks. This is very disappointing.
So when I went to the bar to catch the game, the bartenders were very friendly, but the drinks are very expensive even for the Newark metro area. The food was average at best.
The breakfast is a pay breakfast, but I couldn't tell you the price. One day it was 9, the next it was comped, the next day it was 6, and the last day I ate breakfast there was 16. It was good but not for 16. I wouldn't stay here again if I have a choice. The Doubletree is right next door and I will stay there next time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Ramada Plaza Hotel.

We continue to make aggressive changes daily during our renovations. We are currently upgrading our WiFi service to ensure stable connectivity. This will be an absolute fix and will reduce any issues that being near the airport may cause.

As part of our improvement processes we will be changing the TV channel lineup to include ESPN, HBO as well as many other premiuim channels.

As for the staffs behavior, please know I take this very seriously and will rectify. I do not tolerate less then outstanding service for my guests. I apologize and will identify the person who feels they are exempt from following my Service Philosophy of Excellence.

I am sorry we did not meet your lodging needs. We will continue to evolve to give our guests the great hotel they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was stuck in Newark having missed my connection to San Francisco. Lucky enough to get a voucher for a hotel room, and thought I'd be fine at a Ramada. Although it looked promising from the lobby, the hotel was terrible. Perhaps it was because I was a "voucher" client, but the first room I got looked like it had not been renovated since the 1970s, the windows were leaking gusty cold air, and the heat barely improved the freezing temperature. The front desk staff were pleasant enough to change my room, and I got a renovated room on a higher floor - but still freezing cold as I write this, and I tend to run warm! The shuttle service is not as efficient as other hotels - on a half-hour schedule, and only goes to the AirTrain rather than the terminals. Overall, a very disappointing way to spend an unscheduled stop in Newark.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ramada Plaza Hotel.

I would like to apologize for not meeting your lodging needs. I can assure you coming to stay at our hotel on a voucher does not impact how you should be treated or accommodated, you are our guest. Being in a distressed situation by your airline should not be accented by a bad hotel stay, I am sorry this occurred. I have looked into the heating issues and have found that several units purchased are too small for the rooms, we have replaced them with larger units.
As for the shuttle, we are off of 1&9, our route is a little longer than the hotels on the 1&9 strip whcih are closer to the airport, at times our route which takes us on main highway is under construction or congested this may cause a delay in us getting to the hotel in a more timely basis. As well all hotel shuttles are required to pick up and drop off at P4 as per Homeland Security and Port Authority Police, not shuttles are permitted to drop a the terminal.

I apologize we did not meet your expectations. With feedback such as yours we will continue to improve daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.