We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought I was checking into the Tower of Terror” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    228
    219
    103
    85
See reviews for
169
175
92
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It is true that this hotel is undergoing renovation but don't let that keep you from considering a stay here. Renovations often consume large amounts of resources, personnel and time. During Hurricane Sandy, this became even more complicated. However, the managers at Ramada Plaza, the front desk employees and the cafe crew remained upbeat and aimed to please. The hotel was recently purchased by Ramada/Wyndham and they are obviously making significant strides in updates but what really makes this hotel desirable is that it is clean and has great customer service. This hotel gets 5 stars for customer service. They will do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room that is currently not on a floor they are working on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the positive stay you had at The Ramada

It was my and my teams pleasure to have you stay with us! I appreciate the comments you made about our customer service. I can assure you it was our pleasure to serve you and have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived late at the hotel because of a canceled flight. The staff was friendly and the bar was still open at 1AM with late last call of 3. Nice, but not the bill. Must be a Jersey thing or an airport thing, but hey, most have corporate expense accounts so no worries for them. Buffet breakfast was very good, I was really impressed with it. As for room, it didn't seem that bad for me, no glaring dirtiness and shower and bathroom were quite nice. You could tell the room was dated, but since the hallways were being remodeled on several floors (as discussed with fellow stranded passengers) then it appears they will be renewing them. I've certainly stayed at better places for the price, but I guess it depends on location. If the price isn't raised after the remodeling, it will be decent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Ramada Plaza Hotel.

I am happy we met your lodging needs. We are renovating the hotel and guestrooms which is long overdue and much needed. We hope you visit us again under better circumstances than a cancelled flight so you can witness our evolving into a great hotel you our valued guest deserves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was a mess dirty carpets,dirty walls,dirty bed skirts Will not use a Ramada property again Would have left except we have been on a 12 hr air flight and were exhausted. Curtains were dirty gray and the toilet was clogged you had to flush and pray! Thanks but no more Ramadas

Room Tip: Dont bother. Friend stayed on 7th floor which seemed to be worse than the 3rd floor the whole plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw of the Ramada Plaza.

I respect your opinion, but your review could not be further from factual. While our hotel rooms are older and in the process of being renovated and refreshed, they are clean. Every guest room that is sold is inspected, if it does not meet our guest ready approval it does not get sold. Yes, our rooms are older and look antiquated, that is why I am being so aggressive on the long overdue renovations, however my cleanliness policy is strict as is my maintenance program.
I am sorry the Ramada brand is not for you. Unfotunately, as much as we try, we are not for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 160A Frontage Road, Exit off of 1-9, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.