We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
utica, United States
1 review
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The bridge from penn station right to the lobby was helpful!! The surround area just outside of the hotel made me slightly uneasy, but once in the hotel I felt very safe the whole time. The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable and the atmosphere was great. Ordered a very good breakfast through room service was delivered actually and quickly. Also had dinner and drinks in the restaurant which was just lovely. AMAZING french fries. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    321
    121
    64
    24
See reviews for
165
182
78
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Traveled with my children (5 & 8), visiting NY for the first time. Amazing location, right in front of Newark Penn Station, walk into the Path and on the way to NY in 20 minutes. Restaurant on site, great pricing compared to the surroundings area. Dunkin Donuts and Starbuck on site and many other restaurants like Subway. Great staff, everyone helpful and warm. You could not walk by anyone without them acknowledging you and greeting you. My kids loved everyone and it was a great trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 7 nights on a holiday. All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and pleasant throughout the time we were here, from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out. The hotel is conveniently placed above Newark Penn train station with a ride to Manhattan around 30 minutes away. The hotel was very clean with the biggest comfiest bed in the world perfect after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping in the Big Apple. When we visit again we probably wouldn't stay here, nothing to do with the hotel itself - just a little far for us to commute every day to the city and back. Other than that - perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is at the Penn Station in Newark. It is a 25-minute, $5.00 ride to Penn Station on 33rd Street in Manhatten. The hotel is clean and well-run. The casual restaurant with bar is fine for dinner and a starbucks is just outside the main entrance. It is a fantastic alternative to paying NYC rates. If your room faces the station, you will hear taxis honking their horns (strange but typical driving behavior of the NY/NJ area).

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the club level too get breakfast in the morning and snacks and desserts in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

very convenient to Newark Penn station. The hotel does a good job, nothing outstanding but always acceptable. The food is average and the checkin process has improved over the past couple of years. Interesting food choices in the area, thought Penn Station is always a little dicey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a good and clean hotel away from the crazy city. It does not have the latest decor as it is a bid old and dated, but it is clean. We stayed for four nights. It is an easy ride (+-30min) on the metro into the city. Just check your route as it does change over weekends. We were two families with children of 4/5/9/14 and did not have any trouble getting into the city. There is a save indoor walkway from your hotel lobby into the station. There is a Starbucks, small supermarket and restaurant as you leave the hotel for the station. In the station there is a great little bakery with good prices as well as a McDonalds. One night we got back from the city after 10pm and did not have any trouble with safety. We did not go to any resaurants in the area. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights beginning 9 October on our first visit to New York. We chose this hotel for a variety of reasons one important one being the big difference in price in comparison to NY prices and another being we had an early morning flight out of Newark. We arrived about 12.30pm and had no problem checking in with the Reception Staff so nice and welcoming. Our room on the 6th floor was clean and exactly what was required by us. Travel into NY was no problem with both the PATH and New JerseyTransit trains suitable for our destinations (go to Hudsons News in the station to buy a 10-journey PATH train for $19) and taking only approximately 25 minutes into the city. There was a variety of eating places round about for breakfast and the hotel itself had a restaurant where dinner could be got although we did not use any of these. Access to Penn Station was no problem both across the bridge and from the exit door at street level - the reported problems of vagrants by previous posters did not prove a problem for us even when we returned late in the evening. For us (both seniors in our mid-60s) this hotel was the perfect antidote to the crowds, noise and busyness of NY, a city which I loved. If ever fortunate enough to return to visit NY we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.