We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good for business trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient, good for business trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is convenient to Newark Airport and connected to Penn Station. Last year I flew in to Newark for business and on my night off easily took a train into NYC for dinner. Staff is very nice, there is a concierge floor to grab breakfast or a nightcap, the wireless works good in the rooms and there is a small business center. In addition it is connected to a plaza with all the necessities--drug store, ATM, Starbucks and a few places to grab a quick bite to eat. In addition there is a small bar/restaurant attached where I had a good burger.

Room Tip: This hotel is not smoke free, so request a non-smoking room if you don't smoke and don't wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    371
    158
    77
    33
See reviews for
200
215
94
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

best place we traveled to ny city and took the train the staff was so helpful and even gave us their business card in case we got lost. We were greeted each day as we departed the elevator with a good morning and how can we help you. Loved the carring they gave us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everything about our stay was wonderful. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel made our travel very easy since Penn Station connects to the hotel. Several restaurants and shops are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel was quiet, clean and easy to find with convenient parking. Meeting room was great and the lunch was excellent. I would recommend this hotel for group meeting which is close to airport for easy arrival as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night and got the room on Priceline for a good price. Definitely much better than NYC prices. The hotel is connected to Newark Penn Station via an enclosed walkway over the street. From there it's a 20 minute ride on Path to Lower Manhattan. Very easy to get to NYC. The staff are friendly (although I was disappointed I could not check into my room early). Room was clean and comfortable. Not a new modern room, but definitely acceptable. Room and bathroom are not large, but it worked for me. Parking is next door and it costs $21 a day to park. When you consider the price I paid on Priceline, this is much better than staying in NYC! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. It was about a 20 minute drive to the cruise port if I didn't get all of the lights red.

It was a little confusing when we arrived. The entrance is very small and there were buses and cabs blocking it, so we missed it and headed directly into the garage. When we finally got things figured out, we checked in, Teresa (sp?) at the desk was very helpful in getting us checked in and provided us with all the information we needed. We then walked back to the car to get our luggage.

The room was very big and clean. The bathroom sink and counter are a little high, so if you're short it could present some challenges.

We walked down the bar to relax after the drive in through the crazy traffic. Tony at the bar, made us feel right at home, and had suggestions for what we should try. He was a lot of fun, even though he had other tasks and customers.

The bed was very comfortable and even though we faced the street, the noise level wasn't that bad. You could hear sirens and horns, but nothing very loud.

In the morning we went to the breakfast bar. We only had the continental breakfast, selection was nice. Alex the waiter kept my wife's coffee cup full and also filled up her travel mug when we were ready to leave.

When we were ready to leave, the morning bell hop, Oscar called us on schedule and was at the room in about 5 minutes to take our bags and load them in the car.

The security of the hotel was good. Had to have a key to go up in the elevators, to enter the building after a certain hour.

The walk way was full of shops and very bright and clean looking. Couldn't believe a Starbucks closed on a Saturday morning though.

We fly out of Newark often, and we will probably be changing this to the hotel we stay at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumba, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good clean room with comfortable beds. Room away from Penn Station was perferred and I did not hear it at all. Close to PATH trains to New York City. Only 2 min walk to trains that goes 24x7. A bit expensive car parking at $21 per day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.