We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
I Love NYC Package
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed the night using my reward points from AA, perfect location, easy access in and out of NYC. Room was clean. Will definitely stay there again. Totally loved it. Check in and out was very easy, the staff were very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    351
    148
    73
    27
See reviews for
186
196
88
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We won a trip and I chose to stay at this Hilton for it's location. It was close to the performing arts theatre and attached to the train station. The hotel staff was fantastic with every request and question we had. The bed was comfy and the room was fine. No bar fridge which did surprise me though. The guys at the front door were great with questions and helped us get to where we want to go to! The outlet mall in Jersey is not far and tax free!. The train takes you directly to Broadway and Ground Zero with no transfers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently traveled to Newark, NJ on business and was pleasantly surprised by the friendly attentive staff at this hotel. Several of the managers and front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful and make sure my needs were met. The hotel is in a good location, near the NJ Devils stadium in the revitalizing downtown Newark NJ area. Clean rooms and lots of fast food options in the shopping center attached to the hotel are a plus. Also, Dino BBQ across the street from the hotel is a great option - good BBQ by anyone's standards. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Does not have same Honors Program as most Hilton Properties. No access to club room unless you are on club floor. Once they are full, thy give a voucher to restaurant. Nice but takes too long. Staff were friendly, rooms were fine, but Honors Policy is restrictive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Wendy V,
I can assure you that we follow the Hilton Honors guidelines when it comes to what amenities we offer. I also want to sincerely apologize about your negative experience in our restaurant and can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to the Executive Chef.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Jerry Lord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms. Good location. Right opposite Newark Penn station. 15 minute train ride to New York Penn station. We didn't have a free breakfast but it was OK. There is a Starbucks right next to the reception.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I would like to thank you and your family for staying at the Hilton Newark Penn Station and giving us such honest and sincere feedback. I can assure you that we value your comments and share them with the entire staff. Regarding your comments about security both myself and our Director of Security work closely with the Newark Police department and the NJ transit authority to ensure that Newark is safe and secure.
Jerry Lord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is not the typical Hilton experience. The restaurant and fitness center are small for the size of the hotel. However, the hotel is walking distance Ferry St. which has many excellent restaurants. You may not enjoy a job around the neighborhood given all the homeless people who look like they had a job at one time: not the typical homeless suffering from illness or alcoholism who tend to hang closer to Newark Penn Station. The staff make up for all this with their friendliness. The hotel is about a 20 to 25 minute train ride into the city on NJ Transit. I am not sure about NJ Path, some of the locals discourage taking it into the city. There are interesting sites near the hotel but they are not open Monday thru Wednesdays. You could stay closer to the airport, spend less money and still take the train into NYC but you may never be able to get to the hotel. The roads around the airport are under construction and most of the roads seem to keep looping. The hotel is partially renovated. They decided to keep the dark doors which clashes with the modern interiors but the doors are old fashion, heavy doors that block sound from the hallways. There is still lots of noise from the streets typical for a big city.

Room Tip: The end rooms have king beds and bigger baths with double sinks separated in two rooms, great for co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel accommodations and staff were very well, similar to what I have come to expect from Hilton hotels. However, the restaurant food was very poor in terms of flavor and service (very slow). This is unfortunate and unlike a Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.