We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, musty stay....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dated, musty stay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had to go between Brooklyn and Newark for work and decided to stay at the Newark Hilton due to proximity to train and my office. The place was just dank, exterior to interior. I don't think the springs poking my back through the mattress were orthopedic. THere needs to be a rehab done here, nice staff, but room I had smelled musty, had doors from 1979, and an interesting looking splatter on the curtains...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    387
    171
    81
    35
See reviews for
213
229
97
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hilton at Newark Penn Station is right across the street from the Newark train station (walk out of the train station and you are there). The location is excellent, and the staff are very helpful and professional. Newark is not the safest city, but the Hilton felt very safe and has security features that prevent any problems for guests (vigilant staff, key cards required in the elevator, etc.). I ordered one meal from room service and it was fine (at the level I expected from a Hilton). The bar is comfortable and serves good local food and has a decent selection of beer on tap or in bottles. The rooms need to be updated physically (this Hilton hasn't been remodelled in a long time) but the staff kept my room very clean and everything worked fine. The bathrooms in the rooms are very small. This hotel is also convenient to the Ironbound district if you like Portuguese food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I will preface this review by saying that I have been to NYC at least a dozen times and have never stayed in the same hotel twice.

I've stayed in Manhattan, Brooklyn, the Bronx and in a few places in New Jersey - usually trying to save money since hotels in the city are so expensive.

During my last visit, I settled on this hotel and I have already booked another stay here for later in the year.

The hotel is literally connected to Penn Station as in you don't even have to go outside to get on the train. This was very convenient since it was raining and very cold when I was there last December. It's only about 20 minutes to Manhattan.

The hotel staff was probably the nicest I have ever encountered and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. The rooms are impeccably clean and parking is only $11/night.

There is a bar/restaurant on the floor that is reasonably priced and other shops that are a part of the connecting catwalk to Penn Station are literally footsteps from the hotel elevators. Also, it is very safe.

If you can find a good deal on this hotel, it's the most affordable place to stay while visiting the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FLorida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was great for the conference I recently attended down the street. Convenient free shuttle to the airport, very good service, and although downtown Newark isnt the best, this is a nice respite if you have to be there. I saw lots of families using it as a home base for a NYC trip and it is across the street from Penn Station Newark so it's definitely convenient if you dont mind trains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark new jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent service veto convenient right across fruition the grey hound bus station I hay no problems at all this wad my second time using this hotel!!! Everything I neededed right in the same location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We landed at Newark & checked in trouble free in this hotel. While there's nothing unique about the hotel or about our stay experience there, our stay at the hotel was comfortable & the staff was friendly. The best.. the penn train station wad right under our feet..quite Literally

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Hilton because it is connected to Penn Station Newark by a walking bridge and has a free shuttle to the airport. It's everything you expect from a Hilton. Good food at the on site restaurant and monitored 24 hrs a day. We never felt scared even though people had warned us against staying in Newark. It is an easy inexpensive ticket on NJ transit into NYC Penn Station.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.