We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, musty stay....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dated, musty stay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had to go between Brooklyn and Newark for work and decided to stay at the Newark Hilton due to proximity to train and my office. The place was just dank, exterior to interior. I don't think the springs poking my back through the mattress were orthopedic. THere needs to be a rehab done here, nice staff, but room I had smelled musty, had doors from 1979, and an interesting looking splatter on the curtains...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    339
    122
    65
    25
See reviews for
163
182
78
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hilton at Newark Penn Station is right across the street from the Newark train station (walk out of the train station and you are there). The location is excellent, and the staff are very helpful and professional. Newark is not the safest city, but the Hilton felt very safe and has security features that prevent any problems for guests (vigilant staff, key cards required in the elevator, etc.). I ordered one meal from room service and it was fine (at the level I expected from a Hilton). The bar is comfortable and serves good local food and has a decent selection of beer on tap or in bottles. The rooms need to be updated physically (this Hilton hasn't been remodelled in a long time) but the staff kept my room very clean and everything worked fine. The bathrooms in the rooms are very small. This hotel is also convenient to the Ironbound district if you like Portuguese food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I will preface this review by saying that I have been to NYC at least a dozen times and have never stayed in the same hotel twice.

I've stayed in Manhattan, Brooklyn, the Bronx and in a few places in New Jersey - usually trying to save money since hotels in the city are so expensive.

During my last visit, I settled on this hotel and I have already booked another stay here for later in the year.

The hotel is literally connected to Penn Station as in you don't even have to go outside to get on the train. This was very convenient since it was raining and very cold when I was there last December. It's only about 20 minutes to Manhattan.

The hotel staff was probably the nicest I have ever encountered and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. The rooms are impeccably clean and parking is only $11/night.

There is a bar/restaurant on the floor that is reasonably priced and other shops that are a part of the connecting catwalk to Penn Station are literally footsteps from the hotel elevators. Also, it is very safe.

If you can find a good deal on this hotel, it's the most affordable place to stay while visiting the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FLorida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was great for the conference I recently attended down the street. Convenient free shuttle to the airport, very good service, and although downtown Newark isnt the best, this is a nice respite if you have to be there. I saw lots of families using it as a home base for a NYC trip and it is across the street from Penn Station Newark so it's definitely convenient if you dont mind trains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark new jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent service veto convenient right across fruition the grey hound bus station I hay no problems at all this wad my second time using this hotel!!! Everything I neededed right in the same location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We landed at Newark & checked in trouble free in this hotel. While there's nothing unique about the hotel or about our stay experience there, our stay at the hotel was comfortable & the staff was friendly. The best.. the penn train station wad right under our feet..quite Literally

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose this Hilton because it is connected to Penn Station Newark by a walking bridge and has a free shuttle to the airport. It's everything you expect from a Hilton. Good food at the on site restaurant and monitored 24 hrs a day. We never felt scared even though people had warned us against staying in Newark. It is an easy inexpensive ticket on NJ transit into NYC Penn Station.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.