We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very conveniently located hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newark
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very conveniently located hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We landed at Newark & checked in trouble free in this hotel. While there's nothing unique about the hotel or about our stay experience there, our stay at the hotel was comfortable & the staff was friendly. The best.. the penn train station wad right under our feet..quite Literally

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    335
    132
    68
    25
See reviews for
172
191
81
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose this Hilton because it is connected to Penn Station Newark by a walking bridge and has a free shuttle to the airport. It's everything you expect from a Hilton. Good food at the on site restaurant and monitored 24 hrs a day. We never felt scared even though people had warned us against staying in Newark. It is an easy inexpensive ticket on NJ transit into NYC Penn Station.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

we looked at several hotels while planning our trip to New York city, this was a great choice, a very short walk to the train station and a 15 minute ride into the city. The rooms and hotel were very nice. the staff was very friendly, I would highly recommended this hotel for your trips into new York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked as an overnight before travelling on to Cincinnati. Decided not to book a Manhattan hotel for the night as the hotel is 10 mins from Newark so very convenient. But, also only 20 mins NJ Transit rail journey into Manhattan, which I did at 7.30am as had 5 hours to kill. It turned out my flight got cancelled due to tail end tornado storms (2ndJune) so the hotel gave me wifi access on my return to pick up bags and then when flight rearranged to next day checked me in again effortlessly.

Service faultless. Room excellent (2x Manhattan size). Restaurant, friendly but pricy for quality of food.

Great base for business but also for a cheaper route into downtown sans noise etc.

Room Tip: 6th and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Extremely courteous and friendly staff. Enjoyed my stay. Clean. Quick ride to the airport. Free shuttle. Comfortable bed. One of the better values given location and quality I have had during the last several years at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The carpets are dirty, the tile in the bathroom is in disrepair, the staff was not friendly at check-in and put me, a Hilton Honors member, in a terrible room. The hotel was not full so other rooms should have been available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Classical Hilton, not far away from Newark Airport -with Train - and also good locatedin Newark (Train Station). Friendly Customerservice. Very clean and calm Room. We had goodView from Room from hgiher Floor!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.