We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I know of in Newark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newark
East Hampton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best I know of in Newark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, it was a decent experience. Restaurant ambiance is mediocre, but chef is very good as were servers. Security was fine. Bed was good. HVAC worked. Pleasant staff. Good hotel for business in Newark -- would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about he Hilton Penn Station and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Jerry Lord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    343
    144
    73
    27
See reviews for
181
194
85
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my first trip to NYC and its was great to see. I went with Hubby and 3 children (16,10,5) and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing was odd was how small the bathroom was, the room was clean and roomy. I wish we had queen size beds instead of full sizes and a bigger bathroom. I mean the bathroom was so small that you can not open the door to the bathroom while your kid is on the toilet or you would knock them off the toilet. But getting to the PATH or to Amtrak was easy walk but would not suggest this location if your press for time it took at least 30 mins or more to get to NYC but that could be because of the repairs being made because of Sandy. But it was a lot cheaper staying in Newark than NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good value with good proximity to the railroad station and downtown Newark. The area is struggling to regenerate, but other than big events at the Prudential Center, things still feel more like a concoentration for commerce than a vibrant social hub. The hotel is a little dated but acceptable with no outstanding negative or positive features.

Room Tip: Soom street noise (as expected), so go for higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent the last night of our holiday at this hotel. Chose this hotel as it was next to the train station (arrived by Amtrak) and it is close to Newark airport (next day departure). The rooms were clean and comfortable - bit of street noise and train noise but nothing to fault the hotel about. It is an east 30 minute train ride to lower Manhattan on the PATH train (40 minutes to Midtown). The staff were extremely helpful as we stored our luggage after checking out (the gentleman who stored our bags was great). The hotel offers a complimentary hourly shuttle to Newark Airport - the driver helped load our luggage into the van and the journey was about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't overlook Raymond Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 24 stayed one night. The location was convenient for our purposes but the area is not nice - an armed policeman told some of our party that it was not safe to leave the hotel! The rooms were OK, although the duvet cover was only placed over the duvet - I would have expected the duvet to be in the cover. The hotel breakfast was expensive but the steak & eggs were very tasty. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

2nd stay at this hotel, returning after 2 years the same high standards of housekeeping continue. Staff all friendly & approachable. Location and access via P.A.T.H. To Manhattan is excellent, convenient & good value. Only downside was overpowering scent of air freshener which seems to be pumped through A/C in public areas & corridors and really is at too high a concentration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Hilton Newark Penn Station for only one night. The room was comfortable and clean, I would say it stood up well to the Hilton standard. The hotel was remodeling but that really didn't interrupt my stay at all. The little restaraunt attached is nice and had good food, but the service was a little slow. One complaint I would mention is the hallways seemed dark, like they might need to increase the wattage on the lightbulbs they use or something. The employees were more than helpful with any request. Great location, connected to Newark Penn Station (direct connect to Manhattan!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.