We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Terrific experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had really (really) been worried about this place the first night I was here - was put on the side of the hotel that faces busy Raymond Avenue and felt like the traffic noise was really out of control. I'm a light sleeper and could hear sirens, etc. even with ear plugs in and the A/C turned up high. Requested a room change and was put on the other side of the hotel, where luckily the traffic noise and hubbub is much reduced.

Some great things about this hotel:

1.) The staff. Had uniformly terrific interactions with everyone on the front desk, the bell staff, and the restaurant servers. "Free" (don't have exact spelling of her name) behaved in a very professional manner when confronted by a grumpy person who hadn't had much sleep and took care of the noise issue with minimum hassle. Had been told my bags would be moved for me but it took minutes to accomplish that when I got back from the city later so it was really no big deal.

2.) Comfy, awesome beds, good ventilation, room darkening shades worked great. Not much noise after my room move.

3.) This place is just right on top of the NJ Transit line that takes you into the city. It's a little confusing - NJ Transit is not called "light rail" and it behooves one to take a look at the station map helpfully posted near the entrance to Newark Penn. Be aware you don't have to go into the main waiting room to buy NJ Transit tickets and that most of the trains to New York Penn depart from Track 1. There's a ticket vending machine right on the platform and I'd say you can be from your room onto the train within 20 minutes if you're traveling off peak. It's only 2 stops to New York Penn and again, it's only about 15 minutes. So this option, IMO is comparable to staying in Manhattan and paying double or triple their inflated hotel prices to get to tourism locations like Central Park-area hotels. If you need to travel during morning or evening rush, I'd allow double those times, but I can't imagine it would take more than an hour to get into the city ever, barring major unforeseen transit disruptions.

Speaking of - having been to NYC many times and stayed in hotels: the rooms at HNP are twice the size of what you'll get in Manhattan and you'll pay dramatically less to stay here. Due to the timing of my arriving flight I decided not to wait for the hotel shuttle from the airport (which arrives every hour on the half hour - 12:30, 1:30 etc) and the cost was only about $20 even with bags. Had a great time talking to the cab driver, another good experience.

The trip back out to Newark Int'l Airport (served by Southwest Airlines, among others) is a piece of cake from the hotel, another advantage over staying on Manhattan - rather than having to haul your luggage on public transit to get back out to the airport, you can simply have the HNP staff give you a ride on the shuttle - free, easy, nothing bad to say about it at all. Be sure to bring some dollar bills, you'll want to tip the busmen and such for their genuinely excellent service.

All this being said, a couple things to know. For we Hilton Diamond members - there's a great lounge on the 9th floor staffed by another of Hilton's crazy-friendly employees, but it's only open during the week - no supper on Friday night or any service over the weekend. A good option for weekday travel but there wasn't much to eat when I got back from the city a little before 10 PM on a Friday night, as the hotel restaurant had stopped serving by the time I called around 11 PM. Room service ends at 11 as well. There are some restaurants and such in the 500-yard or so covered bridge to Newark Penn (which is carpeted, well lit, lovely, and not at all scary) but they all close at 7 PM. Just be sure you plan for this and don't wash up super-late starving hungry and expect to find a lot of late-night options. Of course, you could always step over to Penn Station and grab a bite, but as others have mentioned the tunnel to/from the hotel closes at 10:30. It's literally across the street so no issues but possibly worth mentioning in case of bad weather.

Breakfast is no problem - great service in the Executive Lounge or in the restaurant. There's a Starbucks right outside the hotel's front door for your coffee needs.

One minor quibble - I love New York's Channel 1, which features local news and a lot of weather updates. Couldn't find it on the TV package, was a little disappointed, but all of the national news channels and such were available.

Generally, though, just can't say enough about the great experience I had here. I visited NYC from Nashville, TN to visit friends and to see a 3-part art exhibition ("Audubon's Aviary" at the New York Historical Society - John Audubon's watercolor studies for epic masterpiece "Birds of New York" - go go go. The first portion of the exhibit was spring 2013, but there are two more in 2014 and 15. I'll be staying at HNP for all of them.)

Honestly, all things considered? Great service, late checkout when I asked for it since I had a little time to kill before my flight? Super-easy transportation? Good ventilation, water pressure, local services? This place gets a full five stars. I'll definitely be back, and recommend this property to everyone I know - I really think this is just unbeatable for the location and value. Thanks for an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: If you have any noise issues, ask to be away from Raymond Avenue. It's MUCH quieter higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive and insightful response about your stay at the Hilton Penn Station! We sincerely appreciated you taking the time to provide feedback and I can assure you it will be shared with the staff. We will look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Jerry Lord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    324
    124
    65
    24
See reviews for
166
185
79
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, it was a decent experience. Restaurant ambiance is mediocre, but chef is very good as were servers. Security was fine. Bed was good. HVAC worked. Pleasant staff. Good hotel for business in Newark -- would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about he Hilton Penn Station and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Jerry Lord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my first trip to NYC and its was great to see. I went with Hubby and 3 children (16,10,5) and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing was odd was how small the bathroom was, the room was clean and roomy. I wish we had queen size beds instead of full sizes and a bigger bathroom. I mean the bathroom was so small that you can not open the door to the bathroom while your kid is on the toilet or you would knock them off the toilet. But getting to the PATH or to Amtrak was easy walk but would not suggest this location if your press for time it took at least 30 mins or more to get to NYC but that could be because of the repairs being made because of Sandy. But it was a lot cheaper staying in Newark than NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good value with good proximity to the railroad station and downtown Newark. The area is struggling to regenerate, but other than big events at the Prudential Center, things still feel more like a concoentration for commerce than a vibrant social hub. The hotel is a little dated but acceptable with no outstanding negative or positive features.

Room Tip: Soom street noise (as expected), so go for higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent the last night of our holiday at this hotel. Chose this hotel as it was next to the train station (arrived by Amtrak) and it is close to Newark airport (next day departure). The rooms were clean and comfortable - bit of street noise and train noise but nothing to fault the hotel about. It is an east 30 minute train ride to lower Manhattan on the PATH train (40 minutes to Midtown). The staff were extremely helpful as we stored our luggage after checking out (the gentleman who stored our bags was great). The hotel offers a complimentary hourly shuttle to Newark Airport - the driver helped load our luggage into the van and the journey was about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't overlook Raymond Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 24 stayed one night. The location was convenient for our purposes but the area is not nice - an armed policeman told some of our party that it was not safe to leave the hotel! The rooms were OK, although the duvet cover was only placed over the duvet - I would have expected the duvet to be in the cover. The hotel breakfast was expensive but the steak & eggs were very tasty. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

2nd stay at this hotel, returning after 2 years the same high standards of housekeeping continue. Staff all friendly & approachable. Location and access via P.A.T.H. To Manhattan is excellent, convenient & good value. Only downside was overpowering scent of air freshener which seems to be pumped through A/C in public areas & corridors and really is at too high a concentration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.