We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location..Okay Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great Location..Okay Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The location is GREAT if you are going into the City. There is a bridge that connects to Penn Station so you never even have to go outside to catch the train. The room was ok. The bathroom is very tiny. There is no space between the toilet and tub but other than that it is nice. No fridge in the room and since I was only there one night I never bothered to inquire about getting one.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room to avoid hearing the outside noise of Newark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    327
    127
    67
    24
See reviews for
168
187
80
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed here many times on business. I like Hiltons, and this one is quite nice, with outstanding service. As its name suggests, the hotel is very close to Newark's Penn Station. It is also close to downtown Newark, which is much maligned. Nonetheless, the Ironbound Section is within safe walking distance and is worth the walk. If you're more adventurous, take public transportation to Branch Brook Park, which has more cherry blossoms than anywhere outside of DC and is surrounded by large attractive homes. Newark isn't the safest place in the world, but in dozens of excursions from the hotel within the downtown area and on Newark's public transportation, I never felt remotely unsafe. You can stay at a Hilton quality hotel and see a city (or at least parts of a city) that probably look nothing like home. Or you can stay at an airport hotel and see nothing worth seeing. I recommend the former.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm a Hilton employee so therefore my expectations are high... I was extremely disappointed with the staff and this hotel over all.I've seen better amenities at a Hampton Inn. I was far by impressed.The Doubletree across from Newark Airport was simply stunning.....Parking sucks and I did not feel safe walking from my car back to the hotel. The parking garage is a seperate entity. My over all experience was just unpleasant....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked this hotel through Expedia's mystery deals. We had a flight very early the next morning out of Newark airport so we wanted to stay in the area. The hotel is connected to the Amtrack station which provides service into Manhattan for $5 each way per adult. It's only about a 15 minute train ride. That was the highlight of the hotel...having access to NYC so easily. The room was very nice and bed extremely comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful as well.
The downsides are the parking...which is in a garage adjacent to the hotel, which charges $37/day. The hotel offers $21/day parking there, but you need to bring your ticket to the front desk to receive this rate. It is not automatic. We were there 12 hours and the garage tried to charge us $37. So, the parking situation was not so easy to navigate. Additionally, the area surrounding the hotel is nice during the day, but as soon as the sun falls, it gets very creepy. The connection to the Amtrack station and the area outside the hotel are hangout spots for homeless people. The area is very seedy so to speak, and does not seem safe at all. It seems the doors to the rooms are paper thin, as you can hear EVERYTHING in the hallways, including people coming back to their rooms at all hours of the night. I got zero sleep. We left very early the next morning (3:30am) to catch our flight and there were prostitutes in the exit of the hotel arguing with some characters in a stretched SUV limo... It wasn't a very pleasant experience, especially since my 9 year old son was along.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had an overnight at Newark Airport decided to try this hotel and see how it compares to the Hilton Newark Airport. I had a better experience at the other hotel due to many small problems at this hotel - which were fixed but there were so many of them!

General details about this hotel in comparison to the Hilton Newark Airport. This one is connected to a shopping mall so there places and things to go to next to the hotel. The gym is similar to the airport hilton maybe a little smaller, but a standard Hilton fitness center. The breakfast was similar, maybe better at the Penn Station Hilton. The shuttle to the hotel takes longer to Penn Station and it only runs once an hour but is largely on time (it was about 7 minutes late to pick us up at the airport). The rooms are standard Hilton rooms. The staff wants to be very helpful but they need to get more things right the first time.

Here is a list of minor problems with my stay: (a) no blanket on bed when I checked in. Room was defeathered but no replacement blankets left on bed, only a sheet - not enough in February. (b) no tub mat in shower. New tub was so slippery I slipped twice in the shower - once falling on my butt - could have been very dangerous. Had to call housekeeping to get them to bring a rubber mat. This was a third call after the bed call and the water call (discussed next). (c) no waters in room (despite being Hilton gold). They were delivered to me at the gym quite promptly. But this required yet another phone call. (d) restaurant got my order wrong after taking a while to bring my food. They got it majorly wrong - different vegetable and sauce on the fish when I did not want it on the fish. I asked them to fix it and bring it to my room rather than waiting a while longer at the restaurant. They did this and comped the meal. (e) Monitors not working in business center - told to use computer at concierge desk to print boarding pass but that was not working either. Had to email boarding pass to manager who took care of it.

My room was fine, not quite as nice as the very newly renovated (and hip) room at the Airport Hilton (see my review from December 2012) but quite servicable.

Overall the staff really tried to fix everything but frankly they should have had it right the first time rather than needing to call up countless times to have various details fixed. That said I had a very good rate (around $125 including tax) for my overnight near the EWR airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

located next to Penn Station with easy rail link to NYC via PATH service. easy walk to ferry st with brazilian / portuguese restaurants etc.

rooms goid although bit worn. service excellent. bar doubles as breakfast / dining area and is a bit small for this size of hotel. starbucks nxt to hotel in small mall area

would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have used this hotel several times now for our weekend visits to NY city. The PATH train is connected via enclosed walkway to Penn Station from hotel. Note, they close the walkway around 11PM and then you need to leave the station from the opposite side and go through the road causeway to get to the hotel. Not a big deal but use good sence, not the nicest neighborhood. Staff was curtious and helpful. Rooms clean but a little small. 10 minutes from route 78. Easy in and out to the city. Self parking was $21 for the weekend. Make sure you get your ticket validated at hotel or it will cost you $48 for the weekend.

Room Tip: Hotel offers reduced rates if not full the day of visit. Make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.