We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as the ratings. many small problems all fixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
southern california
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“not as good as the ratings. many small problems all fixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had an overnight at Newark Airport decided to try this hotel and see how it compares to the Hilton Newark Airport. I had a better experience at the other hotel due to many small problems at this hotel - which were fixed but there were so many of them!

General details about this hotel in comparison to the Hilton Newark Airport. This one is connected to a shopping mall so there places and things to go to next to the hotel. The gym is similar to the airport hilton maybe a little smaller, but a standard Hilton fitness center. The breakfast was similar, maybe better at the Penn Station Hilton. The shuttle to the hotel takes longer to Penn Station and it only runs once an hour but is largely on time (it was about 7 minutes late to pick us up at the airport). The rooms are standard Hilton rooms. The staff wants to be very helpful but they need to get more things right the first time.

Here is a list of minor problems with my stay: (a) no blanket on bed when I checked in. Room was defeathered but no replacement blankets left on bed, only a sheet - not enough in February. (b) no tub mat in shower. New tub was so slippery I slipped twice in the shower - once falling on my butt - could have been very dangerous. Had to call housekeeping to get them to bring a rubber mat. This was a third call after the bed call and the water call (discussed next). (c) no waters in room (despite being Hilton gold). They were delivered to me at the gym quite promptly. But this required yet another phone call. (d) restaurant got my order wrong after taking a while to bring my food. They got it majorly wrong - different vegetable and sauce on the fish when I did not want it on the fish. I asked them to fix it and bring it to my room rather than waiting a while longer at the restaurant. They did this and comped the meal. (e) Monitors not working in business center - told to use computer at concierge desk to print boarding pass but that was not working either. Had to email boarding pass to manager who took care of it.

My room was fine, not quite as nice as the very newly renovated (and hip) room at the Airport Hilton (see my review from December 2012) but quite servicable.

Overall the staff really tried to fix everything but frankly they should have had it right the first time rather than needing to call up countless times to have various details fixed. That said I had a very good rate (around $125 including tax) for my overnight near the EWR airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    361
    151
    76
    31
See reviews for
194
207
92
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

located next to Penn Station with easy rail link to NYC via PATH service. easy walk to ferry st with brazilian / portuguese restaurants etc.

rooms goid although bit worn. service excellent. bar doubles as breakfast / dining area and is a bit small for this size of hotel. starbucks nxt to hotel in small mall area

would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have used this hotel several times now for our weekend visits to NY city. The PATH train is connected via enclosed walkway to Penn Station from hotel. Note, they close the walkway around 11PM and then you need to leave the station from the opposite side and go through the road causeway to get to the hotel. Not a big deal but use good sence, not the nicest neighborhood. Staff was curtious and helpful. Rooms clean but a little small. 10 minutes from route 78. Easy in and out to the city. Self parking was $21 for the weekend. Make sure you get your ticket validated at hotel or it will cost you $48 for the weekend.

Room Tip: Hotel offers reduced rates if not full the day of visit. Make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We choose this hotel because it is conveniently close to Manhattan but not as expensive as a Manhattan Hotel! Penn Station is accros the hotel and connected via a walkway. The Path Train takes you in 20 minutes to WTC station for only $5 return a person. We put our rental car in the garage and this was perfect. Ok it costs about $25 a night but even this is cheaper then parking on Manhattan. The rooms where perfect, staff friendly and check inn went fast.

I for sure will return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed at this Hilton many times while doing business in New York. I love how it is adjacent to Penn Station and I don't even have to go outside to enter the train station. My daughter was able to experience a train ride (15 min) into the city. The breakfast( I purchased the breakfast option)is great downstairs and everyone at the hotel was very helpful. They let me use the computer in the front lobby when there was not a computer available in the business center. The bellman was very helpful in arranging a car for me an early ride to LaGuardia airport. I was also able to check-in early when I arrived several hours before 3pm. I love this hotel and find it more affordable than staying in New York.

Room Tip: Buy your roundtrip fares at Penn Station so you won't have to worry about it on your way back. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great location to stay for a short train ride into NYC. This property is right across the street from Newark - Penn Station that will take you directly into NYC Penn Station (Madison Sq. Garden). The ride is only 20 mins and cheap too. The hotel is a comfortable Hilton, staff are friendly, small work-out room, small business centre and a restaurant/bar that would be enough for most for a short stay of 3-4 days.

Here's the Newark deal on safety...I was told it would best to be back to the hotel by 10pm as it can get a bit dicey out there for tourists (So, we did, not a problem & watch-out for the last train times could cost you hundreds if you miss it!!!). Hotel was very safe even outside the front of the property. Just be smart

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was the closest Hilton to an event I was attending in New Jersey. I was a little nervous staying in Newark but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was gorgeous and clean. The lobby as well. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Most importantly I felt very safe here. You need your room key to access everything, so there is no need to worry about being in one of the scariest cities in NJ.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.