We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for NYC Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for NYC Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We choose this hotel because it is conveniently close to Manhattan but not as expensive as a Manhattan Hotel! Penn Station is accros the hotel and connected via a walkway. The Path Train takes you in 20 minutes to WTC station for only $5 return a person. We put our rental car in the garage and this was perfect. Ok it costs about $25 a night but even this is cheaper then parking on Manhattan. The rooms where perfect, staff friendly and check inn went fast.

I for sure will return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    327
    126
    66
    24
See reviews for
168
187
79
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed at this Hilton many times while doing business in New York. I love how it is adjacent to Penn Station and I don't even have to go outside to enter the train station. My daughter was able to experience a train ride (15 min) into the city. The breakfast( I purchased the breakfast option)is great downstairs and everyone at the hotel was very helpful. They let me use the computer in the front lobby when there was not a computer available in the business center. The bellman was very helpful in arranging a car for me an early ride to LaGuardia airport. I was also able to check-in early when I arrived several hours before 3pm. I love this hotel and find it more affordable than staying in New York.

Room Tip: Buy your roundtrip fares at Penn Station so you won't have to worry about it on your way back. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great location to stay for a short train ride into NYC. This property is right across the street from Newark - Penn Station that will take you directly into NYC Penn Station (Madison Sq. Garden). The ride is only 20 mins and cheap too. The hotel is a comfortable Hilton, staff are friendly, small work-out room, small business centre and a restaurant/bar that would be enough for most for a short stay of 3-4 days.

Here's the Newark deal on safety...I was told it would best to be back to the hotel by 10pm as it can get a bit dicey out there for tourists (So, we did, not a problem & watch-out for the last train times could cost you hundreds if you miss it!!!). Hotel was very safe even outside the front of the property. Just be smart

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was the closest Hilton to an event I was attending in New Jersey. I was a little nervous staying in Newark but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was gorgeous and clean. The lobby as well. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Most importantly I felt very safe here. You need your room key to access everything, so there is no need to worry about being in one of the scariest cities in NJ.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the location which was quite convenient and only a 20 min train ride from NYC. From the moment I walked through the doors I was greeted warmly, check in was smoothly and the staff was extremely professional and informative. Even the housekeeping staff were very courteous and accommodating. Room service informed me the time frame my food would arrive and they were extremely accurate. The room was perfect, not one complaint only compliments as it lived up to the Hilton name.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

the most important quality of a hilton is to have a polite staff, i stayed in hilton newark for 2 days in dec, staff was not polite, doesnt smile at all as if they were forced to entertain me. However on the bright side the rooms were clean and location was ok. The hotel manager should ask the staff to be more kind and friendly to their customers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location is very convenient, cat walk to Penn station 1 short train ride to NYC, Penn station has a few shops and food stands pizza popcorn dunkin donuts, cheesecake etc. The staff was very nice but the rooms and prices were over exaggerated. I expected so much more since it was a Hilton brand. The beds are old and need to be changed, you'll wake up with a backache, the rooms were stuffy, the ac/heater makes a lot of noises. The rooms are tight, not much space. Overall it's passable but I did not see anything better than the small hotel chains. They definitely need to upgrade.

Room Tip: Be specific with what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.