We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location to stay for NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice location to stay for NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great location to stay for a short train ride into NYC. This property is right across the street from Newark - Penn Station that will take you directly into NYC Penn Station (Madison Sq. Garden). The ride is only 20 mins and cheap too. The hotel is a comfortable Hilton, staff are friendly, small work-out room, small business centre and a restaurant/bar that would be enough for most for a short stay of 3-4 days.

Here's the Newark deal on safety...I was told it would best to be back to the hotel by 10pm as it can get a bit dicey out there for tourists (So, we did, not a problem & watch-out for the last train times could cost you hundreds if you miss it!!!). Hotel was very safe even outside the front of the property. Just be smart

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    335
    131
    68
    25
See reviews for
172
191
81
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was the closest Hilton to an event I was attending in New Jersey. I was a little nervous staying in Newark but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was gorgeous and clean. The lobby as well. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Most importantly I felt very safe here. You need your room key to access everything, so there is no need to worry about being in one of the scariest cities in NJ.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the location which was quite convenient and only a 20 min train ride from NYC. From the moment I walked through the doors I was greeted warmly, check in was smoothly and the staff was extremely professional and informative. Even the housekeeping staff were very courteous and accommodating. Room service informed me the time frame my food would arrive and they were extremely accurate. The room was perfect, not one complaint only compliments as it lived up to the Hilton name.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

the most important quality of a hilton is to have a polite staff, i stayed in hilton newark for 2 days in dec, staff was not polite, doesnt smile at all as if they were forced to entertain me. However on the bright side the rooms were clean and location was ok. The hotel manager should ask the staff to be more kind and friendly to their customers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location is very convenient, cat walk to Penn station 1 short train ride to NYC, Penn station has a few shops and food stands pizza popcorn dunkin donuts, cheesecake etc. The staff was very nice but the rooms and prices were over exaggerated. I expected so much more since it was a Hilton brand. The beds are old and need to be changed, you'll wake up with a backache, the rooms were stuffy, the ac/heater makes a lot of noises. The rooms are tight, not much space. Overall it's passable but I did not see anything better than the small hotel chains. They definitely need to upgrade.

Room Tip: Be specific with what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this property in Oct. 2012. The desk staff were very nice and rooms were always clean. The location was great to get into NYC easily.
Compared to a hotel not far from this one, the Hilton is quite overpriced. The other location had rooms of the same cleanliness and comfort for literally half the price. Internet was included, the Hilton charges approx. $12/day.
We ate at the restaurant for the buffet breakfast which I strongly felt was way overpriced for the quality. We had breakfast the day prior at a place in the concord between the hotel and the train station it was cheap, great service and good food. At the Hilton buffet my nephew had a forgein object in his scrambled eggs so I advised the wait staff. I understand these things happen from time to time. My nephew had such a bad taste in his mouth, as it was the gel from the sterno that he couldn't eat anything else.
When I went to pay the check they did not discount my nephew's meal. I told the waiter I could not pay for that due to what had occured but did pay for the rest.
I felt this was truly bad PR for and would not go back to that restaurant.
I have no problem paying higher prices for higher value items but truly feel that this location is very overpriced considering you can go a slight distance and find an equal hotel for 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The best point on the Hilton is the very easy access to the train into New York City. We had stayed and played in New York City for a week prior. We were looking to stay somewhere else for another week with easy commute into New York each day. This proved to be perfect and more reasonably priced. The staff were very pleasant, the rooms were tidy and always cleaned appropriately and there were food/drink options handy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.