We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wear Noseplugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wear Noseplugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wake up Hilton ... you need to take your flag off of this old, disgusting building. First of all, why the ridiculously strong air freshener scents in the lobby? It was so bad, we could barely breathe. This one hotel has changed my mind of Hiltons as a chain. Marriott or Starwood would never allow a property like this to exist.

Secondly, the hallways are dark, dirty and dingy. The rooms, not much better. I'm fine with the "NYC small" rooms, but the carpets and bed skirting were nasty ... windows so dirty you could barely see out of them. And that lobby air freshener working its way up into the rooms ... fresh air please!!!

There's no lobby space to speak of ... one dirty couch and a couple "flea market worthy" chairs.

We did have a great lunch one day at the restaurant, but in the morning --- beware! It's tiny and so overcrowded when the hotel is busy. The $24 breakfast buffet was icky ... just the basics with the addition of a few hairs here and there ... nothing to protect the food.

This hotel is a cheap option for those wanting to stay outside of Manhattan and grab the $5 NJ Transit trains to NYC Penn Station (walkable to Times Square), but the money-saving plan will quickly turn into depression --- especially at night when the direct access to the train station is locked and you're forced to trip over homeless people scattered throughout the station in Newark.

Never again!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere! Jersey City and Hoboken are better non-Manhattan choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    315
    115
    62
    23
See reviews for
153
172
71
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Normally, I travel for business, but this time I was in Newark to see the Rolling Stones concert. My wife and I stayed in a standard king room. Room was clean, bed comfortable, and water pressure in shower is fine. Early check in was available for us and we always felt safe while in the hotel. The hotel is conveniently connected to Penn Station and we were able to take a train into Manhattan easily without paying NYC prices.

Shuttle Service only runs every hour or half hour and is in a very old/dated van, but it gets the job done.

Hotel is within walking distance of the Prudential Center, however make sure you have a group walking with you. In fact, any time you walk outside the hotel, be careful, I was eyeballed a dozen times when we walked to the nearby walgreens once. This area is not safe and despite the line you will be fed about "Newark is being cleaned up"....its not, proceed with caution. I would stay in this hotel again, but only if I absolutely had to be in the area. It's just not safe. You will hear police sirens going off all night...I know we did.

No Pool, which was surprising and disappointing for a Hilton, but I guess I've been spolied by more modern Hilton properties over the years.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I wasn't expecting as much as we got during our two-day over Christmas stay. The room was not spacious, but it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also a bit tight, but everything worked beautifully and the shower was great! I gave it five stars because the staff were so friendly and helpful, even though they had to work Christmas day. I was disappointed, though, that the hotel charges for in-room wi-fi. It's free in the lobby, but there is not enough space in their tiny "business center" and we could not find seats. I thought the days of charging for Internet were over! Anyway, I will definitely return the next time I visit my family in the area and this will probably become the "traditional home-away-from-home."

Room Tip: We had an "economy" room and thought the value was great for the price we paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This Hilton is connected by walkway to Newark Penn Station making it ideal for those traveling by train or needing an alternative to nearby EWR. It was a short walk to the Prudential Center. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze, but there was plenty of hot water. The staff at the front desk was kind enough to provide a toothbrush! Also tried the room service and I can recommend the salmon and the cheeseburger.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from the elevator vestibules.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Rooms were clean , as were the hall ways. Somehow expected more from a Hilton. Rooms were average , but above Holiday value . Some small annoying things were , no NFL channel , no Fx. Room service hamburgers were tasteless. My friend had a room by the ice machine , noise and banging from the machine all night . Some shifts in the restaurant couldn't get the order right . Stayed there for two weeks . Limited menu was adequate .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is located within blocks of the Prudential Center where my wife and I attended a Rolling Stones concert. Incredibly convenient and also right across the street from the train station so we could easily travel into NYC to visit the sites and enjoy a day in the Big Apple. The room was very well appointed and the Concierge Room was a very nice amenity with snacks and drinks in the evening and a well-stocked breakfast buffet in the morning.

Eve at the front desk was very helpful in making an arrangement for friend of ours who were in need of a room on short notice. All of the staff members (front desk, restaurant, concierge lounge) were very attentive, nice and helpful - loved this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights , very comfartable large room, excellent base for travelling into new york, staff very helpful, restaurant attached for drinks, evening meal or breakfast, did not use pool or spa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton
Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.