We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Come Easy Go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Easy Come Easy Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Hotel at Newark's Pennsylvaina Station. The hotel was well appointed and the staff friendly, professional and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and pleasant. The best aspect of a stay at this property is its proximity to the train station. There is an elevated/enclosed walkway that takes guest from the hotel to the station without going outside. The trains to and from New York City and a miriade of other destinations are readily accessible. The train from Newark to the Penn Staion at Madison Square Gardens takes less than thirty minutes and places the rider roughly one block from Macy's Department Store. If you are looking for a less expensive place to stay and avoiding the hassles associated with driving a car in New York City this is a great alternative.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    387
    171
    80
    35
See reviews for
213
229
97
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was chosen to allow easy access to rail transport in this region - from Philadelphia to Connecticut. And if Super Storm Sandy had not appeared this would have proven to be the case. Despite being a hotel that at times showed its age, the rooms were comfortable (a window leak mid storm must be forgiven when fans are being blown from the roof!) the restaurant / bar was welcoming and the option of facilities around the hotel were adequate.
From our arrival the reception staff were amazingly calm and supportive - already forward planning our unexpected extended stay by booking added room nights.
The hotel location opposite Penn station is great and I would stay here again. Much better value than fighting around NY when a simple train trip will get you there. Plus easy access to Liberty Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fairly typical Hilton, which was good. I got what i expected and was pleased. The front desk staff were all VERY helpful and friendly; I truly appreciated their service. The hotel is connected to an above ground walkway that gives easy access to the Newark Penn Station. Catching a train into NYC was very convenient (although it did take me a little while to figure out which train to actually get on and which machine to buy the tickets from ... it's not the easiest train station to navigate and figure out for a first-timer). Don't expect any amazing views from your room; the area isn't very scenic. But, overall, glad I stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband, parents and I stayed here in order to explore NYC over a long weekend. The condition, cleanliness and comfort of the hotel were great. All of the staff we encountered were wonderful. Being connected to the train station and having covered parking were also extremely convenient. We also got breakfast with our rate, which was substantial and good. I would definitely stay here again. The only thing I'll note is that there is traffic noise even though we were on the top floor. They provide ear plugs, which is thoughtful and appreciated.

If you're not familiar with the NYC area transit, the Info desk at the train station was very helpful when we needed it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for meetings in the area, because of the Newark location. This is not a property I am going to come back to, unless all other options are sold out. Service is reasonable, but no one goes out of their way to please you, for example, small perks like a bottle of water to Hilton Honors guests are not given here. But the worst is not that they don't give you the small things, but the bigger things that you don't get. The small gym has two treadmill, out of which one doesn't work and on one of the two stepper machines the screen didn't work, so my workout went south waiting in line. Every time you access the parking lot you have to wait in line at the front desk to get your ticket validated, so if you drive in and out, you'll find yourself standing in line most of the day.
I'm a frequent Hilton guest, with silver status, but this stay has made me start thinking that I should broaden my horizons to other chains.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location for this hotel. The staff is very welcoming and helpful however the rooms are getting to be a bit run down. In need of a remodel... but still nice! There was no luggage rack etc in my room which was a bummer and the rooms are not very soundproof. This hotel has a lot of traffic and parties going on it seems like. Tunnel connects you to the train into the city, which makes shopping very easy, and the hotel is a way better value then staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hilton is a lower standard hotel. It is old and dirty. In the floors and in the rooms there is additionally a bad smell. At night it is very loud because it is directly situated at a very large street.
There is only one benefit: you can easily access New York using the train that starts at Penn Station.
But is you have another choice, don't go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.