We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“OK Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a decent hotel. The elevators are fast so there is never really a wait. The rooms are a little bit small but laid out well enough so they don't feel very small. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked awesome. It's hard to find hotel rooms with good air conditioners. The flat panel TV was nice with a wide variety of channels. The room had a nice sized desk and the wireless internet, although not free, worked very well and was extremely fast. The bathroom was about as small as a bathroom could be made. There was a decent amount of counter space for toiletries, but no room at all to move around without falling into the toilet or tub. The shower had a nice shower head and good water pressure, but the drain was extremely slow to drain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    315
    115
    62
    23
See reviews for
154
172
72
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maia, Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very good location – just few steps away from Newark Penn Station, where you can take the subway to NYC, or Amtrak trains to other cities. You will find a path from the hotel that leaves you directly in the station. To NY Penn Station the NJ Transit trains won’t take longer than 16/20 minutes ($5,00/ride each way), and no more than 7 min. to Newark International Airport.
There’s also a path to a small mall, where you can find a Starbucks, a deli, an ATM and some other stores.
The reception staff is not so friendly, but efficient.
Good, large, clean and comfortable room: big fluffy and cozy bed. Flat screen TV. Large and modern bathroom.
A/C in good condition and working very well.
A little bit expensive but still cheaper than equivalent hotels in Manhattan. It’s good value for money and therefore a very good choice if you’re staying for few days in NYC, or in transit to other cities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hilton at Newark Penn Station was a great place to stay even though it was rather pricey. The staff was courteous and efficient, and the hotel was clean and in good condition. I thought that since the room costs over $300 per night, it was kind of petty to charge $13 a day for internet access on top of that. The location was excellent - right across the street from the train station, and that was nearly worth the cost. I would recommend staying there and will likely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemet, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This location is wonderful for traveling into NYC if you don't want to pay the bigger city prices or want a quieter place to stay. Penn Station is literally across the street. It is easy to take the PATH train into the city and enjoy the sights. However, the hotel is not up to normal Hilton standards, IMO. I expected the small rooms, but our room was worn and needed sprucing - the drapery was falling off the rod and there was a lot of stains on the carpet. I was disappointed in the front desk staff who could not answer any of my questions about transportation or sights in Newark. When I asked one of the clerks how far the Bayonnne Cruise dock was he simply said he had no idea. Since there is no concierge at this location, the front desk should be a littler more orientated to such things.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our second stay (April 2012) at this wonderful hotel. We truly can not say enough good...the location (Penn Station), our room, the restaurant but most of all the staff!!! Jung and Keith went, once again, above and beyond to make sure our stay was up to our standards and theirs. If you are visiting Manhattan, and don't want to pay outrageous, crazy Manhattan prices, we could not recommend a better place to stay. Oh, and having a Starbucks connected to the hotel is a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Missed my stop on NJ Transit which made me VERY late for my flight from EWR, so got off the train at Newark Penn, and ran into this Hilton lobby for help. I was immediately greeted by a manager (who could probably tell at a glance how panicked I was). He handed me to the bell staff who found me a cab right away, and off I went to EWR with heart pounding. Hilton had no idea who I was and didn't ask. I was not staying there, though I am a Hiltons Honors member. They didn't care. They helped, and I will be grateful forever that they were so generously helpful to this stranger in trouble. Made the flight, but just barely. If I ever need a hotel in Newark, this will be it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This Hilton located at Newark Penn station is a great location for business as well as casual travelers.
Hotel is located within walking distance of the Penn station using the sky bridge to access the PATH or NJ transit trains into New York City Penn station. $2.00 using PATH or $5.00 each way. It is recommended to buy two-way ticket. You will pay a $5.00 surcharge if you buy the ticket on the train. It is really a transit fee (ticket for failure to pay)

The hotel is a typical older full-service Hilton property with some updated core amenities and rooms. The staff makes the place more than just a place to save money outside the Manhattan over-priced hotels with shoebox living. They are friendly from the check-in process which one would expect, but all the associates are all very friendly and helpful. I was happy for the executive lounge associate who provided a smile and tips on the subway trains once I got to the New York Penn station from Newark Penn station. The greeters at the door give " Great food" tips located just a few blocks from hotel behind the Newark Penn station. The Portugal influence in the area has great Tapas restaurants.

Sure, it is an older property but in the east what property isn't in need of updates. Well worth the chance....

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton
Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.