We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Newark to New York Pkg
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Newark
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is a good one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for fiver days, at first we thought it was to far away from New York, But its only a 20 minute train ride with one stop. Tip for people out there if you stay at this hotel buy a weekly ticket into New york as you will save heaps of money doing it this way. Well the hotel itself does not look much on the outside but inside is a different story, room are comfortable and very clean, the staff are very helpful, the restaurant is excellent. All in all we gave it a ten out of ten. We swtayed for 6 days at the begining of our holiday and seven days at the end. And guess what they remembered us and it was three weeks between each stay. Well done Hilton.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms. No matter where you stay in New York or Newark you will always hear police...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    334
    122
    64
    25
See reviews for
162
177
78
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I have never had a positive impression on Newark, NJ by my recent stay in this hotel changed my mind. The hotel was clean, the staff very helpful, attentive and polite. Even though the hotel was almost fully occupied (a newspaper outside every single room on my floor) the lobby was never crowded with long lines. My room was neat, and quite adequate to my needs. I had meeting in the hotel and in Manhattan, so the proximity of the train station, which is reachable through a neat, clean and very handy tunnel/bridge was one of the best features of the location. Trains were fast and frequent and I never waited more than a few minutes for a NYC bound train. The immediate area around the hotel seemed quite safe although I did not go out at night - I was just too tired after long days in meeting rooms. The Ironbound district seemed interesting, according to the brochures and from what I could see when I drove back home, but again, I had no time to explore it.

The hotel's restaurant tried hard, but it's neither a family-type restaurant nor a fine cuisine eatery. There is a bar and the menu is quite nice. The ribeye steak I had was very good the first night, not bad the second time and tasted like sawdust the last time. I had room service, which was very fast and very good.

All in all, a very nice stay. I just might select the hotel as a base for exploring Manhattan in the future. It's less expensive and the short train ride into NY Penn Station takes you to a very central location.

Room Tip: I have no tips. The traffic noise tended to be a bit much at times but it was only bothersome the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay while visiting New York City. Hotel is connected to Newark Penn Station. NJ Transit to NY Penn Station is $5. Path train to World Trade Center is $3.50. Hotel rates are a lot less than in Manhattan. Hotel has a shuttle to EWR.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Location is realy excellent for airport and onward travel.

Easy connnections from Newark Airport via air train and short $8 ten minute ride on local train.

Hotel linked via walkway to Penn Station.

Staff on reception super friendly and welcoming.

Well decorated, spacious rooms well up to standards.

Only dissapointment the small bar / restaurant off the lobby - good service but a little souless although I guess a little exploring may have found something else nearby.

Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The reason we decided to stay here is b/c we had tickets to see a Broadway show and we didn't want to drive into the city. This hotel is connected to Newark Penn Station via a skywalk. Basically you can just park at the hotel take the train in and back, then spend the night at the hotel. The price of the hotel was reasonable, however, parking is pretty pricy. Expect to spend $21 to park overnight (in addition to your hotel fee). The hotel staff was very accomodating (let us check in early) and the rooms were nice. The bathroom was extremely small though (but updated quite nicely). There also isn't an option for microwaves or mini fridges in your rooms either. Since it's actually located in a business building, you can only access the elevator for the rooms if you have a key card (i appreciate the extra security). There aren't many amenities to the hotel that i could see and the restaurant/bar is quite small. You have to pay additional for your breakfast although there is a Starbucks attached. However, the Starbucks doesn't appear to be open on Sundays. The main complaint i have is the beds are HORRIBLY firm and very uncomfortable. Other than this, it's an average hotel with easy access to the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I hated this hotel and would never return. I stayed here after getting in on a late flight to Newark, thinking that it would be easier than travelling into NY city that late. As it turned out, I could have made it into the city in less time than it took me to get to the hotel, however. From the terminal, you have to take a bus to get to a station where the Hilton hotel shuttle picks you up. That took a while, as there was a wait for the bus. Once there, I called the "Hilton" # on the phone list. After about 20 minutes, a Hilton shuttle arrived. Luckily, as I was boarding, I asked the driver, Hilton Newark Penn Station? It turned out the shuttle was for the other Hilton Newark in Elizabeth Town. The driver explained to me that the Hilton Penn has no phone connection at the shuttle pick up station, and I'd have to get the hotel number and call on a cell phone (which I didn't have). He suggested I could call his Hilton and have them connect me through to the other Hilton. When all of that was worked out and a shuttle finally came, it had taken over an hour and half to get to the hotel.

Second: The room was run down and dirty. I've never been in a Hilton before where the bathroom had hair on the wall, stains on the tub, a poorly cleaned toilet. If it hadn't been 2:00 A.M., I would certainly have asked to move.

Third: It is SO, SO, SO noisy. Outside the hotel is a very busy street: you can hear trucks, lots of honking, and almost non-stop heavy traffic. Off to the left is Penn Station, and you can plainly hear train sounds, etc. coming from the station for most of the night. The hotel is not well sound proofed. Starting in the early A.M., you can also hear room doors slamming along the corridor.

This was a terrible stay for me. I decided to try the Marriott Newark later that week, and while when I had stayed there before, it had struck me as average, nothing very special, it seemed like heaven--clean, quiet, well maintained--in comparison with the Hilton Newark Penn. Station.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear literatureprof,

I want to thank you for bringing to our attention the problems encountered by you during your stay as this will help us in our endeavor to improve our services for all our valued guests. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced on arrival with the delayed shuttle service, the noise disturbances and the lack of attention to detail with regards the cleanliness of your room. Although we failed in our endeavor to exceed your expectations, I want to assure you that corrective action is being taken based on your feedback as we want all our guest to experience quality, variety & value in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Please let us know if there is anything further we can do for you as there is nothing more important for us than winning back your loyalty and trust.

Brendan Moraes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

We used this hotel as part of a post cruise package, the service was excellent , the staff so helpful.
L Garrett , from England

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center-Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Penn Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.