We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heads up- GPS does not work for this hotel!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Heads up- GPS does not work for this hotel!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Putting the address in ends up taking you into downtown Elizabeth. When we called the front desk, we were told to input 125 Frontage Road. We ended up at the Ramada and a dead end. The Marriott mobile site is completely useless for this hotel regarding directions also. The front desk personnel indicated that our situation was not at all unique.

The hotel is pretty quiet for being next to an airport. Also, unlike other Marriotts, wifi is free.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bargain_hunter46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Maybe I was having a bad day, not sure, but I was extremely unhappy with my stay there. I stay occasionally at Courtyards and this one was likely the worst.

I stayed only 1 night in early September. Decided to do a stop over from Europe on my way to the West Coast. Bad idea. It would have been better take the connecting flight.

To reach the shuttle for this hotel it is a nightmare. You have to loop a few times around the terminal, take the AirTrain...Go up, go down, go up. And I had 2 large suitcases with me and I was exhausted after a long transatlantic flight. On top of that, I had to pay $5 for a trolley. Also, the shuttle was delayed.

Once I got to the hotel 1 1/2 hour later, the service was bad. Young kids at the reception more interested in checking this emails in the back room than tending to your needs.

Again, maybe I was jet lagged and tired and in a bad mood but overall bad stay. I would recommend the Marriott closer to the airport. I recall the shuttle picking me up directly at the terminal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a yard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aconcagua2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed with my family for 3 nights , staff was very nice and room are comfertable. If you have conection flights at Newark Liberty International Airport thsi is the great palce with agreat shuttl eservice. However if you are driving and new to the city its not easy accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bashih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 3 day stay, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the airport shuttle service exceed your expectations. We have done a lot of great work in the past year to make improvements, including new easy to recognize bright green shuttle vans. These vans travel to and from Newark Liberty Airport, 24/7 picking up at terminal P-4 at 15 after and 15 to every hour, the van then leaves the hotel at the top and bottom of each hour to complete the airport loop.
It is all good and well making building improvements but it is the people inside that make it live and breathe - we are lucky to have many true hospitality professionals looking to make a positive difference to our guests every single day. Happy traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back in May 2011. I stayed in Room 353. I was traveling on a 7:00 am flight from Newark to Cancun. The hotel is one of my favorites. I love Courtyard's. the hotel is kind of hard to find from the main road but once you do, it's all worth it! The rooms are very nice and clean. The hotel offers a FREE shuttle to Newark Airport but stops at the Fairfield Inn & Suites and the Spring Hill Suites that share the parking lot. Usually the bus stops at the Daily Garage then you have to take the Air Train to your terminal. But since it was 5:30 am, the bus driver was nice and stopped right in front of each terminal for us. The hotel also did a wake up call for us at 4:30. Which was great. When I got on the plane, I slept some more. Great hotel and would defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan7702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dan 7702:
Thank you so much for this wonderful review; since you stayed here last we have many more building improvements, including new furniture and carpet in all the rooms and hallways. We added two new airport shuttle vans that run on compressed natural gas, that are great for the environment along with being more comfortable.
Indeed as you noted the infamous NJ U-turns and jug handles are difficult to navigate, so we have noted some great tips and tricks on our hotel webpage on how to get here easier.
Happy Traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here on a late arrival en route to NYC. Shuttle was fast and super convenient (as weird as EWR is). Hotel checkin was fast and straightforward. My room was clean, comfortable, and there wasn't nearly as much airport noise as I expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April7901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
April 7901:
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to the NYC area, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we truly appreciate your kind review. You will be delighted to know that you rode in a shuttle van that is powered by compressed natural gas, (CNG) that has a minimum impact to the environment.
Our vans run 24 hours and pick up at terminal P-4 at Newark Airport; they are green in color and green for the environment, a big reason why Trip Advisor awarded us their Gold Level for great environment friendly business practices. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simply put, I have stayed here a few times and each occasion surpasses the last. It is an airport hotel in Newark. No, it isn't Palm Beach or Scottsdale, it is Newark. But Gary, the manager, is attentive and especially deserves praise. Good hotel, helpful but not overbearing staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelle311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Pelle311
Thank you for choosing our hotel once again, I am delighted that you have noticed all the great improvements; shortly we will be posting some new photos on Trip Advisor and our main website of our newly renovated rooms.
This is a people business and I am so lucky to have such a great team with me who strive to give their best every single day.
Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed one night stay at this hotel prior to heading on vacation. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Shuttle to airport runs every about every 15 minutes. Pick up is at easy after your stay and parking was part of our package price making it all very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxedinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Relaxinpa:
Thank you so much for your kind review, my team and I look at Trip Advisor every day and are excited to see that all our hard work is paying off with great guest experiences.
Indeed we recently added two new shuttle vans to our fleet and they run on compressed natural gas, (one of the many reasons that we are a “Gold Certified Energy Efficient Hotel” as measured by Trip Advisor and their very extensive criteria).
Thank you again and delighted that you were able to avail of our great park and fly package - stay the first night, leave your car, take our complimentary shuttle to Newark airport and go on vacation.
Happy traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing