We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simply put, I have stayed here a few times and each occasion surpasses the last. It is an airport hotel in Newark. No, it isn't Palm Beach or Scottsdale, it is Newark. But Gary, the manager, is attentive and especially deserves praise. Good hotel, helpful but not overbearing staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Pelle311
Thank you for choosing our hotel once again, I am delighted that you have noticed all the great improvements; shortly we will be posting some new photos on Trip Advisor and our main website of our newly renovated rooms.
This is a people business and I am so lucky to have such a great team with me who strive to give their best every single day.
Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    80
    44
    23
    15
See reviews for
58
44
24
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed one night stay at this hotel prior to heading on vacation. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Shuttle to airport runs every about every 15 minutes. Pick up is at easy after your stay and parking was part of our package price making it all very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Relaxinpa:
Thank you so much for your kind review, my team and I look at Trip Advisor every day and are excited to see that all our hard work is paying off with great guest experiences.
Indeed we recently added two new shuttle vans to our fleet and they run on compressed natural gas, (one of the many reasons that we are a “Gold Certified Energy Efficient Hotel” as measured by Trip Advisor and their very extensive criteria).
Thank you again and delighted that you were able to avail of our great park and fly package - stay the first night, leave your car, take our complimentary shuttle to Newark airport and go on vacation.
Happy traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I only rated this Courtyard as average because it is older and in need of a refresh. I travel quite a bit and my preferred choice of hotel is the Marriott brand. I have visited many Courtyard properties and this one was nice but a little 'tired' looking. Great for the convenience to Newark airport. And the young lady that checked us in was friendly and helpful. Checkout was a breeze. Just wished the Starbucks was open later than 10:00. :). All in all, still very good value.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
RMullin63
We really appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the Newark Liberty Airport area, you have many choices and delighted that you chose our Courtyard. We have an outstanding team whose goal is to exceed our guest’s expectations each and every day; in fact we are currently #1 in the Marriott Eastern Region for overall satisfaction as rated by our independent satisfaction survey program, something that we are very proud of.Indeed we do have the "We Proudly Brew Starbucks" concept and it is available 24 hours, I will be sure to remind all team members of this promise.
Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thankyou Courtyard Marriott, for a great unintended stay. We had a long layover due to a missed flight and had to find a place to stay for 24 hours. The room was excellent, and the customer service was great. We did wait at least 30 minutes for the free shuttle from the airport that night, but we were beat so it didn't matte,r although hot, New York in the heat wave was not so fun. The restaurant stayed open a little extra late to accommodate us late traveler's. Thanks for the good service, if ever coming that way again, will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Bikefamkoppa:
Thank you so much for this awesome review, I am delighted that the team was able to make a difficult time with your flight delay so much better.
Indeed our shuttle runs 24 hours a day and picks up at Terminal P-4 every 30 minutes, we regularly run extra unscheduled shuttles, so I would recommend that if you miss one to call the hotel directly for assistance.
By the way the van that you rode on is powered by compressed natural gas, so it is green is color and green for the environment.
Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stay in a lot of courtyards around the country and this one is on the upper end in the categories I find important. Clean, Friendly, Helpful are all things that come to mind with this hotel. The only downside I can come up with for this location, would be the location. If you're using this hotel for a stay before departing the area from Newark airport then this is perfect. However I was here for five days and had to travel for resturants and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we truly appreciate the time you took, we have made some big investments in this building but the most important one has been hiring and training the right people.
This is and always will be a people business and the team always gets excited when thye see a new Trip Advisor posting on our employee information board.

Happy Traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived at your hotel on May 25th 2013 around 8 Am after a long red eye flight from Phoenix Arizona. I experienced the WORST customer service ever. The female who was at the front counter to check us in didn't seem to care at all. Had a nasty frown on her face and was irritated by any question we would ask her. I had 2 rooms reserved and 10 days later had another reservation as we were driving out to Canada and back to fly out from Newark. I even placed calls to the hotel before to ask questions about the surroundings and nobody was willing to help. (The only positive experience was at the Bistro they were friendly and corteous) Everyone else we came across was rude and didn't really care. Worst experience in any Marriott hotel!!! By the way I cancelled the next reservation and booked elsewhere. Thanks. NOTHING WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
RSM 1974:
Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel, I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience. As you can see from the many very positive reviews we receive onthis wonderful forum, yours is not typical of the service that we aspire to provide each and every day. I will be sure to share your review with the team so that we can learn and grow from this.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly by calling the hotel, our number is listed on the top of the Trip Advisor page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had never been to this area and had tickets for a concert at The Prudential Center. Couldn't have been more convenient. Check in was quick and everyone at the hotel was friendly. We were literally around the corner from the venue and the parking garage. Highly recommend and this will be our go to hotel for any shows at the Prudential Center!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We truly appreciate this great review, thank you so much for taking time out to do so and thank you very much for choosing our hotel.
Indeed the Prudential Center is very close to our hotel, it is an outstanding venue for all kinds of events from NJ Devil NHL Hockey, concerts and galas, we are so proud that Newark has such an amazing facility.
Our hotel recently completed a mini renovation and is looking wonderful, a lot of hard work by a tremendous team really makes the difference and great reviews like this make the hard work, worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.