We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy, nightmare to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy, nightmare to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here on a two day visit to New York. absolute nightmare to find, after two hours was about to give up and book elsewhere. Satnav could not locate it.
When finally we did arrive the room was lovely and clean. Pool facility nice but freezing water in the pool, hot tub brilliant. Transfer to airport super, driver very good. Able to leave our bags before our evening dept to Uk so we could go sightseeing in NYC. Food ok but fairly expensive for what was on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for this nice review, I am delighted that the team were able to make your stay comfortable and productive.
Indeed there is a challenge locating most of the businesses on this stretch of highway due to it's unique name and the merge of so many roads for Newark Airport.
We do have some great tips on our website or I would recommend calling the hotel prior to arrival, so that we can answer any questions that one might have. Happy traveling. GB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    96
    52
    25
    15
See reviews for
66
51
31
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed there for the weekend, while touring NYC. Hotel overall gives overall impression of being a great clean place ... far from it though. Only good thing was the food, breakfast and dinner were great, but other than that ... hotel overall is just not that clean. From bloodied towels, to dirty bed sheets, to a broken sofa bed, a shuttle bus every half hour where every other hotel/motel ran every 15 mins ... definitely would not stay there again, and would recommend to others to avoid if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your candid review and I am sorry that you did not have the experience that we strive to provide, as you can see from the many previous reviews your experience is not typical.
We take all comments on this awesome forum seriously and your review will assist greatly on our journey to provide great experiences to every guest every day.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty during a hotel stay so that the business has every opportunity to make a great impression. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights. It's a convenient location to Newark Airport, and the shuttle runs every half hour to the airport. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is great. However, the housekeeping in this hotel has got to be the worst I have ever seen!!! To start off the bed sheets for the sofa bed were dirty (dried bodily fluids), but was folded nicely for use. We called them to get new sheets and that arrived about 15 minutes later. The next day, used towels were just hung back up again in the bathrooms..again we called, and got new towels. The ice box was not emptied, and the chair for the desk was not returned to it's place after they vacuumed (did a lousy job at it too). The chair was left a good metre away from the desk. The sheets and covers for the sofabed were literally thrown over, not folded, on the sofa. Dirty and used glasses were not replaced. Even though the lobby looked great, the rooms were in good condition, the housekeeping was worse than a 1 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
D R: thank you for taking time out to review your experience with us, as you no doubt read from the many surveys previous to yours, what you experienced is not typical of the service, care or quality that we aspire to.
We truly appreciate all comments on this great forum as they all serve to make our service better, please never hesitate to ask to speak with the Manager on Duty during one's stay to express concerns or to offer commendations. This will greatly benefit the business and service to all guests; current and yet to arrive. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Rooms are clean ( advance purchase of $119 plus tax ). Pool and jacuzzi were PERFECT!! The shuttle to the airport was right on time with George getting us there safely. Like others have mentioned there are no place to eat within walking distance. However there are a number of delivery options. I chose Tony's pizza, hit the spot. They have info on this at the check-in. Don't hesitate to stay here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for this awesome review, indeed George is an outstanding associate; he enjoys taking care of our guests every single day with a huge smile, he is a credit to us and I will be sure to commend him accordingly. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I were flying to Aruba for 8 days. Parked our car in a safe gated area. Easy check in and out. Rooms very clean and fresh. Staff was great. Shuttle bus to airport and back to Courtyard was so easy to use. Will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Grandme:

Thank you so much for this awesome review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to share your very nice comments with the team, we recently made some upgrades to our parking lot and offer some great park and fly deals. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
665 helpful votes 665 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was our second stay at the Courtyard. A wonderfull night sleep with NO jet noise. The rooms have allways been clean and inviting.Lobbey is very nice and modern and was very active when we arrived.Wonderfull staff at checkin and checkout and at the bar.One thing though, the breakfast should start earlier then 7, maybe 6AM. We were not able to take advantage of it before our flight. East access to long term parking in the area and the terminals. We will be flying out this weekend for a trip to Aruba and will use the Courtyard again. Our compliments to Manager Gary B. and his staff.
Thanks
Jerry in Ct.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for this great review, you will be delighted to know that we have recently modified our breakfast hours and start at 6am on weekdays; of course there is always coffee available and the 24 hour Market for snacks and quick bites. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I like the Courtyard Brand but this one was difficult to find. I was in New Jersey 4 days for a funeral and staying at the airport seemed a good idea. But even with the directions they provide I could not find it, I spent over an hour, and finally had to make an illegal left turn to get to the hotel (I was directed to by a police officer who said "you can't get there from here unless you make that turn.") Part of the problem was that there was road construction and some of the signs that are supposed to direct you to the hotel were "temporarily" I am told, removed.

Other than that, the rooms were fine, although I do not like the redesign of the lobby and the addition of the bistro replacing a proper restaurant. Why do they insist on serving kitchen prepared food as if this were a fast food restaurant. I had a business meeting while in Newark and normally I would have my associate meet me at the hotel for dinner. The Bistro is not the type of place I would want to invite a business associate. (Not to mention finding the place.) The redesign of Courtyard lobbies and restaurants is not a plus, in my estimation. I miss the oatmeal and/or waffles in the morning.

One thing that is a plus is the display linking you to the airport and allowing you to print boarding passes at the hotel. Good touch. The pool was nice as well.

To sum it up, a better than average airport hotel, a less than average Courtyard. (Although if the lobby, restaurant makeover is happening throughout the chain, it is, I guess, an average Courtyard.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to review our hotel, we are constantly working to improve the guest experience and this review will greatly help.
We are also working with New Jersey State Department of Transportation to improve access to our hotel and as you can understand there is a lot of red tape. During your visit they were resurfacing the main road directly outside, which is now done and looking and feeling great. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.