We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two dinners in two days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Tavern

Spanish Tavern
103 Mcwhorter St, Newark, NJ 07105-1359 (North Ironbound)
973-589-4959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 487 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Eatonton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Two dinners in two days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This restaurant is rated number one in Newark and I certainly concur. The food and service were great. It has a lot of old world charm and the Spainsh menu is great. The neighborhood is awful, but don't let that bother you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    56
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just happened upon this restaurant upon suggestion from hotel. Great dinner, better than we had expected. Fancy setting and great service. Wine and dinner were really good. Free pickup from our hotel bear the airport. You will not be disappointed, enjoy the evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Old restaurant with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have been here a few times on business trip and this time with a group of 6 on Sunday night. Had to wait about 15 minutes for the table. Appetizers are excellent. Free soup is nice. Menu is not that impressive in choice. Main entree are good but not outstanding. Sangria is acceptable. Service could have been better. Parking is free and safe in this neighborhood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Paella just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Visited this restaurant because of the recommendations from trip advisor reviews. I make paella at home and thought that the paella here would be much better. Not so. Not sure what I was expecting, but other than very large, it was nothing special. The white chicken chunks were dry and not so tasty. The fish was all good and the rice was good. No tomatoes. My husband had the sirloin steak and it was delicious. The sangria was good. The calamari appetizer was chewy/tough but had a light batter and tasted good otherwise. The service was good, the atmosphere somewhat formal and well done. They do not rush you (read, prepare to be there 2 hours). Since I have never eaten in any of the other Portuguese restaurants in Newark, I can to say if this is really the best in Newark as trip advisor would tell you. Check it out yourself. Bring your credit card-there are no bargains here, even if the servings are large.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good eats in the Ironbound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

There are a zillion restaurants in the "neck" or Ironbound section of Newark, and I must say that this is one of my favorites!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spanish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.