We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, Good food, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Tavern

Spanish Tavern
103 Mcwhorter St, Newark, NJ 07105-1359 (North Ironbound)
973-589-4959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 514 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, Good food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed a really nice authentic Spanish meal. The food was good and the service was even better. Nice Sangria, though I felt it a little weak. Portions were big and the bread was very tasty. The seafood was a bit fishy, but other than that, everything was really nice. I would especially recommend this restaurant for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    69
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of the original Ironbound Area restaurants and continues to provide quality food, generous portions and friendly service and great prices.

Mario (the owner) attends to his guests and is always friendly. Sangria and the garlic shrimp appetizer are both outstanding. Have never had a bad meal here and have visited many, many times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have dined at Spanish Tavern numerous times over the last ten years and we are always pleased with the food and service. The garlic shrimp appetizer is delicious. We always have the mariscada in green sauce and it is fantastic. My daughter had lamb chops that were crispy and flavorful. Of course, a spanish dinner would not be complete without flan - carmel custard that melts in your mouth. The waiters are friendly and attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner near Newark Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were looking for a place for dinner after picking up my daughter and her boyfriend at Newark Airport at around 6:30 PM. Based upon reviews on Tripadvisor we selected the Spanish Tavern and we weren't disappointed. It was only about 10 minutes from the airport easy to find and had its' own fenced in parking lot with an attendant where you self parked. Besides the ease of finding the place the food and service was excellent. It was such a pleasant experience that when we took my daughter back to Newark Airport for her return flight two weeks later my wife and I returned for dinner rather than brave rush hour traffic. Again we were not disappointed. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a fine dinning experience in or around Newark.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Spanish Tavern is the taste of Spain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had dinner at the Spanish Tavern tonight. We were greeted by Mario, one of the owners. He is always a gracious host. Spanish Tavern is a charming restaurant. Very nice decor in the dining room and the background music is faintly playing so you can hear each other talk. This is a plus for me. I have entertained clients here for 31 years.
The food is always fantastic. We started with shrimp in garlic sauce and Spanish sausage (chorizo sausage). The three of us ate family style and shared two meals. We had Paella Valenciana and chicken in garlic sauce. This was served with papas fritas and saffron rice. The papas fritas or home made potato chips are to die for. We also had pitchers of their red sangria. Nobody makes it better than the Spanish Tavern. I topped off the meal with a Spanish Coffee. This is a must.
Spanish Tavern is great for family, friends and business. Enjoy.

PS. It is a short walk to the Prudential Center, where the NJ Devils play.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spanish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.