We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free sangria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberia Tavern & Restaraunt

Iberia Tavern & Restaraunt
80-84 Ferry St, Newark, NJ 07105 (North Ironbound)
(973) 344-7603
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 470 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Pub, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hassle free sangria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This restaurant is a Newark institution located in the Ironbound section of Newark. Only 10 mins from EWR it is worth a taxi ride for the food, drinks, and atmosphere. Spanish pub grub at it's most tasty. Private secure parking located on the premises.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    9
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Satisfied Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love both Iberia restaurants but this one is my favorite because it has outdoor seating. The sangria is wonderful both the red and wine variety. The wait staff is great and they make the experience better because of the service. They will see me again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK but there are better restaurants in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a large restaurant that includes indoor and outdoor dining and a huge parking lot (pay $10 and your waiter will reimburse you). Perhaps too large. I have eaten in many of the Portuguese/Spanish/Brazilian restaurants in Newark's famous "Ironbound," so named because it is surrounded by railroad tracks. Most of these restaurants are well known for good food, large portions, an attentive and friendly wait staff, and interesting decor. Iberia served us some food that was good and some that was not up to par and the staff was particularly unfriendly, abrupt, and rude from the very beginning. The bread was dried out as if it had been sliced and sitting someplace for some time. For appetizers. the calamari was overdone, Portuguese sausage was delicious. My wife's stuffed lobster was good, vegetables were cool and water-logged. My pork and clams were okay although greasy and not worthy of taking home. Our friends were reasonably satisfied with their chicken, paella and salmon in green sauce. The decor is of real interest and the portions were large. However, no one ever checked on us during the entire meal. I watied for 20 minutes just to find someone who would bring us water. It appeared that they were busy, short-staffed, perhaps over-worked, and relatively invisible. There are dozens of regularly outstanding such restaurants in the Ironbound so why go to this place??

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Portuguese in NJ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband has been coming here since he was a child. After trying many we feel this is the best portuguese food around. It looks like a real old school family restaurant w old world decor, definetely not for you if you need a modern and chic establishment.
Its just food prepared very well. We love seafood and any dish is amazing. We normally get the garlic shrimp appetizer which is bursting w delicious garlic flavor w plenty of sauce to soak up with their amazing bread. We usually get the double stuffed lobster. Which is 2 whole lobsters stuffed with succulent crabmeat stuffing for $34. You can't beat that. With a pitcher of red sangria its a perfect meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodi, nj
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and drink!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Iberia has authentic paella with great sangria. This is one of the must stop at restaurants in Newark. The area is not that bad and parking on the weekend can take a few minutes.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iberia Tavern & Restaraunt also viewed

 

Been to Iberia Tavern & Restaraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberia Tavern & Restaraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.