We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fortress of good food in the ghetto!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krug's Tavern

Krug's Tavern
118 Wilson Ave, Newark, NJ 07105-3325 (North Ironbound)
973-465-9795
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #23 of 450 restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A fortress of good food in the ghetto!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's almost like the diversity and gentrification passed this gem over 45 years ago, yet the burgers are the best you'll find, the beer is cold and the prices are almost cheap. Quaint? Not quite the word. For those still believing in the American blue collar dream however, this is the place for a cold beer or two and some great grill work. It's dark, probably not as clean as your kitchen at home and often a little loud (think Bon Jovi era rock music). Plus, there's always the chance of a discussion breaking out on plumbing, roofing or bricklaying, making for the perfect back drop for what it is, Krug's - great service and good, quick food, in a perfect fit atmosphere!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    13
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“Don't be fooled by outside appearance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On Friday 9/7, took 4 trips around the block to find a place to park and almost gave up...very happy I didn't. Great atmosphere and really good food and drink. Personally, I thought the burger could have used a few additives...a little onion...bbq sauce prior to grilling...but overall realllly good food. I thought the wings were quite good as well. Great people and good time....gorgeous bar too....dates back many many years. Service was a touch slow but then again, there were only 2 people working both the bar and tables...and we weren't there for a quick in and out so no big deal at all. They were quite courteous so it was barely noticed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers, Fries and Onion Rings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

In fact, almost everything is great. My last visit was with two friends. I had their soup-of-the-day and a giant cheese burger. I like my burger well-done and it has cooked just right. Well-done but not dry. One friend had a chicken parm sandwich and the other the special-of-the-day which was roast beef served with french fries. We all made fast work of our food. Everything was very good.

I have been visiting this place for 10 years or so. Since my last visit, they have spruced up a bit. It used to have the old fashioned 50's look of Philippine mahogany with pool tables in the back room. It now has brickface walls, new floor covering and new bar stools . . . . The long bar is still there but the pool tables are gone. Food is the same and plenty of it. A good value.

From the outside it looks like a real dive but don't let that throw you. It's worth the visit. They have a small parking lot in the rear and you can usually find street parking within a half block.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Favorite bar / restaurant in the Ironbound section of Newark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Krugs is my favorite place to go enjoy a bacon cheeseburger, chicken parm, chicken fingers, mozzarella sticks, and so many other items on the menu. I personally don't like seafood but everyone I know loves their shrimp and calamari. My husband loves their buffalo wings and burgers of course. Their sweet, medium, and hot sauces are delicious!
They recently renovated the front of the bar giving it a whole new atmosphere and feel. They are currently working on the back room. The bar tenders are all really nice and friendly. They have the best bar tenders in newark!! Forget about going to a Portuguese restaurant if you are in Newark. Head to Krugs which has been voted best burger in county by the star ledger many times!!! You will thank me!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers and calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Don't let the old building and location fool you. The burger is one of the best I have ever had. Service is a little slow but worth the wait so order a pitcher to pass the time. The hot and spicy calamari was yummy as well. The place is absolutely worth a try.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krug's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Krug's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krug's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.