We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portion size too large” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernandes 2 Steak House

Fernandes 2 Steak House
158 Fleming Ave, Newark, NJ 07105 (North Ironbound)
(973) 589-4344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 497 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Portion size too large”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Was on a layover in New Jersey and a friend choose to take us to Fernandes. She had not been there but said it came highly recommended. Most people clearly were having a good time. Went on a Tuesday night around 8:00 and did not need a reservation. Location was a bit scary for someone from out of town. Valet parking was excellent. Service was expedient and the attention was very good. Main complaint was the size of the portions. Had chicken with asparagus and shrimp. Tasted delicious but had what was equivalent to four breasts. Would rather have shared it than throw it away. Lots of people were taking food home but on a layover that was impossible. My friend was also both disappointed with the portion and with the taste. Would probably return but split a meal between three. Then would have some room to share what looked like great desserts.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    20
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try it and you will not be disapointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Amazing place with service that is VERY VERY detail oriented. Atmosphere was great, portions way big...I would say maybe even too big. Had surf and turf with fresh meat and fish..Very well prepared and presented. Pricing just like most of the other reastaurants in Newark very very inexpensive....will be back for sure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“sangria, steak, seafood, and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fernandes has been a favorite for years. They have amazing food and the staff is very friendly. My favorite part of eating here, is that they treat us like family. The rodizio is an endless line of meat being served, which is delicious, and I recommend coming hungry. Seafood paella is also very good and serves several people with enough to take home. All of the portions are extremely generous. Dessert is great too... Seradurra, is a traditional Portuguese dessert made of cookies and cream. Or if you prefer something lighter, the pineapple and cinnamon is also fantastic, served warm. I try to eat here at least once a month with family or friends. Its a great spot to meet up and enjoy great food. Although the location is not ideal, its a quick ride to and from the turnpike. Also, if you are unsure whether or not you like sangria, try the red and white mixed together. Its the perfect blend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hearty...and loud.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

After reading negative reviews, I determined once again that, people have no idea what they're talking about! The food was delicious, and served piping hot - although it took AGES to get it. A definite go to spot to have a great meal. Of the 3 other people in my group, 2 had chicken parm - really? You come to a meat palace/rodizio style restaurant to have chicken parm?! And the other, grilled chicken. I told them next time go to an Italian or regular restaurant because they're not coming out with me anymore. I had the Churascarria de Fernandes which is a pile of delicioso bella meat! I'm glad I did because rodizio style would have kicked my butt. The calimari and shrimp cocktail app's were good...a pitcher of Sangria $25 though? Not thrilled about that 1, but overall a good experience. And the place is huge!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My and my fiance have been going to this place for over a year once a month. we live in Staten island. If your looking for rodizio than this is the best place in Newark hands downs. The food has always been consistent the service is great. If they bring a meat that is to rare or overcooked just ask and they would bring you a piece that is more to your liking. don't forget to ask for the chicken hearts.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernandes 2 Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Fernandes 2 Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernandes 2 Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.