We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post TSB Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Caneca Restaurant (Tony De Caneca)

De Caneca Restaurant (Tony De Caneca)
72 Elm Rd., Newark, NJ 07105 (North Ironbound)
973-589-6882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 453 restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Post TSB Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The staff was great. Table was ready for immediate seating after the event at Prudential Center. We shared 5 appetizers: fried squid, sausage, mussels, baked scallops and baked clams. All was very delicious. Our waitor was great. They kept the red sangria flowing. It was quite tasty. There were 8 of us and we tried a number of different entres. Every entre was a good portion. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I think this was an excellent value based on the quality and quantity of food. The dessert tray was equally delicious. I agree with a previous review that characterized this restaurant as a "local gem".

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    14
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My first stop in, I walked into the bar area on what must have been local utility company "skip word day" or a casting call for the next episode of Sopranos. But hey, who am I to judge grown career men drinking for the rest of the day at 2 PM?

The bar service is great and the food is magifique! Try the cilantro and garlic soup! The drinks are all well made and the house Portuguese red wine makes me wish I'd never have learned French. Almost everything that comes out of the kitchen is great fare for that matter. Reasonable enough prices for a solo guy to hang out for a while, have some dinner and not drop a fortune. Or take a date and eat in the dinning room for a little more upscale presentation of the same food.

Interesting neighborhood as you'll probably experience a local new immigrant or two stopping in to sell knock off watches or bootlegged DVDs, but hey it is Newark after all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“delicious and authentic portugese/spanish cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Unbelievable portions... fresh and cooked to order ... excellent and very attentive wait staff. Good selection of wines... daily fish and meat specials are mouth watering ... their almond cake tastes like an old-fashioned good humor toasted almond ... sangria is tasty! We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hard to go wrong with this restaurant, portion sizes are huge, food really good and prices quite reasonable.
Wine list is decent, personally I prefer the selections from Spain versus the Portugese wines which seem to be more of an acquired taste. (think Harsh).
Service is a little spotty, most of the staff are very knowledgable and friendly, one night we had a guy who was described by his fellow server as a busboy. (he may have been a good busboy, he was not a good waiter)
Old style restaurant, in terms of decor, the way the staff are dressed and many items, but they deliver big time in value

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Newarks best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were a party of 12 for my husbands 65th birthday and not only is the food excellent but the service was as well. Hat's off the Tony De Caneca's you know how to make guests feel like family.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Caneca Restaurant (Tony De Caneca) also viewed

 

Been to De Caneca Restaurant (Tony De Caneca)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Caneca Restaurant (Tony De Caneca), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.