We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Spanish Fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vasca

Casa Vasca
141 Elm St, Newark, NJ 07105-1305 (North Ironbound)
973-465-1350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 452 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Montville, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“True Spanish Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've been here to eat several times and the atmosphere although quite similar to other Portuguese restaurants in Iron Bound Newark, is not typical in the food it serves. The feel is very family owned and the food is simply the closest to the region my family is from in the north of Spain. Prices are a little more than some other restaurants but well worth it in quality. The restaurant is separated by one wall with the old school Spanish/Portuguese bar on one side and the dining area on the other. We know you'll enjoy the atmosphere, food and amazingly, their own space to park your car! If you are familiar with Iron Bound, you'll know this is priceless when you have a reservation and your hungry. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What A Surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended to come here from a regular customer that lives across the street. I was at first thinking it was going to be like any regular restaurant that I have been to in Manhattan. Boy was I surprised. My table was not ready upon getting there, but the hostess and owner asked me to wait in the bar area. What a great idea!! The bartenders were super helpful and friendly and even changed the tv channel for us to watch the basketball game. How great was that?! Never has that happened.

Upon going into the dining room area we had a huge appetite and boy did we eat. The portions were more than we expected. The pulpo was amazing! The chorizo and shrimp and garlic to die for. I could not believe when we got the check how reasonable it was. I will definitely go back. We were only a party of 4 but I would definitely recommend the place to more colleagues of mine. 100% worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basque food Unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ourstanding food, service and value. Have run group events here. Couldnt be a better deal. Everyone took food home. Parking right next door and liquor licence too. Downside: people dont always like going to Newark. Otherwise seems safe.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“decent seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Not a great restaurant, but decent. Don't order beef, tasteless. The octopus with shrimp was very good. They cook paella with parboil rice instead of spanish rice. Must work for most, but if you are a connoisseur of spanish cuisine, you will not like their paella.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favorite Spanish Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A little crowded and on weekends a little hectic but well worth the hassle.The food is excellent and the quantities unbelievabel. I get a paella and I can eat for three days. The service is a little rushed but very professional.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Vasca also viewed

 

Been to Casa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.