We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers

Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers
844 Mccarter Hwy, Newark, NJ 07102-5209 (Newark Central Business District)
973-623-4662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 487 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Newark Central Business District
Scranton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This restaurant is a excellent place for the whole family. We had a party of 35. 12 of them being kids the wait staff was couteous and very patient with the large group. Even after all the spills and excitement from the kids. The food was very good and the steak was extremely large it feeds 2. It is like a Spanish steak house. I'd definitly go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    18
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lunch had good value but slow servicei”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had shrimp entree which was plentiful and very good for about $15.
Disappointed in service as plenty of staff but more interested in talking to themselves then waiting tables. This place needs some updating as it is dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Simply great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As I spent a weekend in Newark, thought my family deserved to experience the place my aunt and uncle took me to when I was young. This place has not changed a bit. Went with my parents, wife and two kids. Meal was too large and incredible to know where to begin. Th apps were all on point, with the sangria as wel. Chorizo and mussels were the hit with shrimp and oysters close behind. Paella was the best my wife has ever had. The shrimp and garlic was the best my dad has had. I had an incredible veal chop. Even my critical children loved the food, and left full. With dessert, bill came to 300 ....well worth it. Also had a bottle of wine. If in sea, or close, this place shouldn't be missed. Incredible Spanish food. Suggest reservation for pArties more than 4. Saw people waiting, we had reservations...thank the lord.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Have been there multiple times. Always excellent . All the food is excellent but I definitely recommend the paella. Serving for 2 will feed 3 or 4. Its huge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shohola, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service - Great Food - Our Favorite Place as a Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have been going to Don Pepe's for years. Every wedding anniversary, and special occasion. Have hosted work parties here as well. Awesome food. Have never been disappointed. My FAVORITE is the Red Snapper. The whole fish. AWESOME Stuffed with Crab Meat and shrimp. Can't say enough about the service. Perfect. If you have a couple of hours layover in Newark Airport, please go. You won't be disappointed.

Their soups are fantastic. Appetizers are great. Wine, drinks, (THE SANGRIA). Can't say enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers also viewed

 

Been to Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.