We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure! Great hotel! Great Staff! Ivan was the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure! Great hotel! Great Staff! Ivan was the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Our family & friends came to tour the Watchtower Facilities in New York. Unable to find a hotel under $200/night in the city, we went off a recommendation to try Springhill Suites Mariott in New Jersey. What an amazing find! Easy to get in/out of city, large rooms, very clean, breakfast was a bonus. But what made our 5 night stay even more pleasurable was Ivan at the front desk. He was very helpful with info of where to eat, what to see & do in the area, and was just a really great guy! He truly made our stay much more enjoyable and we left feeling as if we made a new friend. Thank you Ivan! We would DEFINATELY stay here again. Angie S

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    183
    80
    29
    12
See reviews for
161
98
25
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Front Desk personnel Ivan Crego helped make our trip all that more enjoyable. This hotel was already a fabulous find for our NY trip, but he made it all the better. The lobby is well maintained, the rooms are really very well appointed. Breakfast was a bit of a zoo all 4 days, but the staff was quick on refilling items. (Guess the word is out on what a great place to stay this is!)Took the FREE shuttle van that leaves every 30 min to pick you up or drop you off at Newark Int'l Airport to hop on the NJ train. Nice feature. Really hope the hotel keeps up the well maintained atmosphere here. A reasonable, clean hotel is so hard to find. This one gets my vote!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for one week to see Manhattan and family in New Jersey. Great experience at this hotel! Room was clean and spacious. Could hear the highway and planes but slept great. Breakfast area was busy but well done and restocked regularly. Airport shuttle was on time and very handy. Only real complaint would be the wifi but only slow at peak times. Seems like the staff is doing their best there for the guests and keep it up!!

Room Tip: stayed in room on 5th floor on Manhattan view side. Great view and slept well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Spacious and clean rooms. Was close to the airport, but didn't hear alot of noise from the planes. Delicious breakfast. There wasn't alot of space to eat, breakfast area was under construction. Can't wait to see the updated breakfast area. Pool area was clean, but small.

The only complaint that I have was that it was hard to find, especially in the dark. The little road to get to the hotel needs to be better marked with signs and lightening. It runs directly parallel to the highway, and you can easily miss it in the dark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

After traveling out of the country and needing a hotel for a layover, this was above and beyond our expectations! I wish we could have stayed longer just to enjoy the hotel. The rooms are large, pretty, very comfortable and have everything you would want and more. The desk hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle was quick and on time. We would recommend this hotel to anyone! A breath of fresh air!

Room Tip: We booked the basic room with two doubles and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of it for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was my very first stay at a SpringHill suites and by in large I liked the stay. The hotel was reasonably priced, relative to the other EWR area hotels (at least at the time of my booking). The my room was quiet, good sized, with a sitting area, fridge, and microwave. The airport shuttle leaves the hotel every 30 minutes and was reliable during the stay. It picks up/drops off at P-4 (although twice the driver dropped folks off at their terminal) and stops at the Courtyard next door. The ride takes ~15 minutes.

I had no problems with the free WiFi in the room, but the signal was weak at breakfast. Biggest problem, was that they ran out of coffee at breakfast. It might seem trivial, but that alone downgraded my review from very good to average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The obvious reason a person stays at this location is accessibility to the airport. However, the hotel personnel nor the shuttle driver made sure we understood where we would be picked up on our return to the airport. As it has been several years since I flew out of Newark, I went to the old passenger pick up area. After running around in the cold and very windy street, I finally found someone who directed me to go back into the terminal and go to the third floor and take the air tram to the hotel shuttle pick-up area. I think a little effort should be taken on the part of management to make sure this information is made available to their guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 652 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.