We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights during Hurricane Sandy. The room was very pretty, spacious, and clean. The staff, especially Yolanda and Vivenly, handled the 24 hour power outage professionally and were very helpful in extending our stay when our flight was cancelled and rebooked. The only problem we had was finding the hotel each time we left and returned. Our navigation system even had a hard time figuring it out! But it was a great place to stay and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    176
    76
    28
    12
See reviews for
154
91
24
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for a family funeral, just one night. It was tricky to figure out how to get in, because it was night and there was lots of traffic in the area around the airport. But there are signs, and you basically just go in a circle, circling in until you are there. The hotel is under renovation; currently the check-in area and main entrance are relocated to the back side of the hotel. They're still serving breakfast, and it was just fine. The usual assortment. The rooms are updated and clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. We would stay here again. They have shuttle service to the airport so this would be a convenient overnight for that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed one night here because we flew in a day early before our cruise out of Port Liberty. We were fortunate to be the first plane to fly to Newark from Indianapolis after Sandy so I was just happy to be in New Jersey and not holding a cancelled flight ticket! The lobby was a mess due to construction but I wouldn't hold that against them...it's only for the betterment of the hotel! We had stayed up all night the night before so when we checked in around 10am we were very pleased that our room was ready. I'm pretty sure when we woke up from our "nap" it was dark. Not that I couldn't handle going without a meal but there really is no place around the hotel without having to take a taxi. The first pizza plac we called was closing up due to the delivery driver running out of gas and there was none to be had at that point. Our 2nd call was successful and within 30 minutes we had a wonderful Italian meal in our room. The hotel clerk had given us a couple of delivery restaurants when we checked in. That was much appreciated. We headed to the lobby at 10 hoping to get a taxi to Port Liberty. We were told that there would be a shuttle available to take us at 10. Great! (well...for a cost..but that's fine) We waited until 15 after 10 and still no shuttle. We went back inside and was informed that they had already left. So, they called a taxi for us and it was very prompt. Overall... when you take Sandy and the construction into account, we had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As Tour Director I brought a group of 45 people for a 2 night stay. Prior to arrival I was in touch with the Group Sales Manager, Mikolt Banyai. She gave our tour her fullest attention, sharing her direct line, answering all questions promptly, doing an extra favor for the tour sponsor, and meeting us at check-in. When we arrived the desk clerk announced that Housekeeping had not finished cleaning 5 of our rooms, and that the delay would be 45 minutes. This was very upsetting, since the group had to freshen up in rooms and then depart from the hotel in one hour. But happily, I didn't even have to ask the Manager if anything could be done about the problem, because she immediately took charge. Within 10 minutes, the occupants of the 5 rooms had been switched to other accomodations which satisfied them. The problem was solved! Her approach was calm, and efficient. The message she put out was "Don't worry, I'm taking care of this for you." Then, because the lobby area was undergoing construction, as an added bonus she personally escorted the group to alternative elevators, so we could get to our rooms without delay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a concert at the Prudential Center and getting to the hotel from where i was coming from wasn't too bad. But when i was coming in from the city it was just awful! Super super confusing so anybody staying here really keep your eyes peeled for the signs. There are a few other hotels in the same area as well. They were also doing some maintenence at the main entrance so it was moved to the back. But minor detail really. Never heard anything noise wise. There were some loud neighbors but really we weren't in the room too much. Also being a poor college student, when I had to change my credit card they did it with no problem. But since it was a debit there was a hold on the room charge. The general manager Vivanli is absolutely awesome and super helpful. She immediately told me what we could do to fix it and was just overall awesome. The rooms were also simple yet clean and nice. Overall I wouldn't mind staying here again except for the location. At night too confusing to get to, but when you call them to ask for directions they helped in that as well. For the price not bad. So completely overall my experience was great for my short weekend in Newark.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We attended a convention in the NJ area and selected the SpringHill Suites Newark as the hotel for our delegates to use for accommodations. The entire process, from setting up the group sales agreement with the sales manager and all the way thru check-out, was an enjoyable experience. The hotel was going thru a renovation process during our weekend stay, but the rooms were new, clean and spacious and the help staff was professional and courteous. Free breakfast was available in the morning, which get our day going on the right track. We have been to the Newark Airport location before and stayed at other hotels in the area, and as all were from outside the New Jersey area, traveling to, from and around the location is not easy. Plus, Hurricane Sandy was rolling into the area at the end of the weekend. But our convention program and hotel experience were among the positives of this trip. We are looking forward to coming here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier NZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for about 5 days and enjoyed every single minute of it. The breakfast was different but lovely, not used to milk in little plastic pottles especially on our cereals and fresh fruit, oh boy are we spoilt in NZ with fresh fruit and veges every day..Didn't have a restaurant so before we came back late at night had to pick up takeaways to eat at the hotel...No milk for tea and coffee in the rooms, in NZ you are given a basic pack for your room when you book in. They did have an all day market ( chillers stocked with basics that you had to pay for as extra) We had a clean and spacious room. We all toured on three coaches so transport was not a problem.When left here had to catch a taxi to the bronx to meet up with friends there, had no idea about the subway hence caught a taxi..Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff friendly and happy..Cheers

Room Tip: We just took what was alloted to us three coaches full..And not one of us was unhappy with our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 652 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.