We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Newark Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Newark Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   858 Broad Street, Newark, NJ 07102 (Newark Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newark
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My adult daughter and I stayed two nights at the hotel before going on a cruise from Cape Liberty NJ. We were glad to have the convenience of the shuttle from the airport, the walk to Penn Station so short, and the few restaurants around the corner by the Prudential building so friendly. We were out during the day and felt safe. All the hotel staff were very helpful, the food in the cafe in the hotel very good. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street. There were sirens during the night but we have the same at home.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good practices were in place at the hotel. I am told this needs to be 50 characters long so I will keep on typing till I am there. I think when a hotel implements good environmentally-friendly practices they sometimes go unnoticed.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    69
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
19
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've stayed at plenty of 5 stars hotels before, as well as some last minute dive like hotels, so I am well versed in proper hotel communication and customer service.

It was about noon and i was waiting for my hubby to meet me at the hotel to check in as the room was in his name n he was paying. I was using the free computer in the lobby for guests to kill time waiting for my hubby. The security guard approached me asking if I was a guest and I told him we were checking in shortly once my hubby came. He asked his name and I kindly gave it to him. After about 10 minutes he approached me again stating the PC was for guests only and since the room was under my husbands name I was technically not a guest.

I was asked to get off the computer and had 5 min to do so. I was disgraced!! Even if my name is not the name on the res I am still a guest and should b treated with the the same respect. It was quite embarrassing and just turned me off from wanting to even stay there. How could they not allow a guest who is paying to stay for 1 week at $200/night denied free computer use while waiting to check in.

I'd rather spend my money elsewhere instead of paying all that to stay in a poverty stricken area where I hear gun shots n sirens at all hours!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey of our hotel LadyD81. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced when using our business center computers. All guests of our hotel have the right to use our complimentary business center and I will be sure to review your posting with our security team.

Respectfully,
Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel was great if you look at it in a vacuum - standard Courtyard Marriott offering with great amenities. Gym, airport shuttle, 24 hr market place, free internet, lounge and bar etc. Rooms, beds, toilets etc are extremely clean. We were glad to come back to it every night! Just be mindful of the locality - it's situated (in my opinion) in a very depressed neighborhood with police sirens wailing all the time. If you're a person who is sensitive to loud sirens all through the night, this is NOT the place for you. Luckily for us, we are a bunch of heavy sleepers; but we still woke up with loud sirens 3-4 times through the 2 nights that we stayed. Parking is convenient although not attached. If you're planning to return late night to Newark Penn station, I recommend a $7 taxi ride to the hotel. Morning walks to the station from the hotel are fine. Lots of parking around the area; 1 or 2 decent places to eat although (again) its NOT a place to go out 'fine dining' in the evening!

Room Tip: Pick a room AWAY from Broad street. Rooms are spacious; we had the one with 2 queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel Monish S. While I'm glad you enjoyed the many complimentary amenities the hotel offers I apologize for any disturbance the city noise may have caused you during your stay. I would also be happy to personally recommend some excellent fine dining restaurants that are just a short cab ride away. We hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Right next to Prudential center, this place was perfect for a graduation overnight stay last week. Was very impressed by the size of the room - very large and spacious room, two queen beds with plenty of room to move around. Beds were comfortable, bathroom decent - overall a very comfortable stay.

There was a parking garage just around the corner. And Prudential Center was less than 1 block away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Ten minutes from the train and a ten minute train ride to new York
Where the hotel is situated isn't the best but on the corner there is joes crab shack mmm foods awesome
Jersey gardens mall fantastic for shopping and only about 15 minutes away
Also Hoboken is a short car or train ride away and you can visit Carlos bakery if you know the show

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Newark always gets a bad rap. So that being said I will give the positives about this hotel. Airport shuttle from Newark liberty, and to Penn Station. Hotel is only about 2 years old and is in great shape. Rooms very nice and clean, breakfast in the morning was good too. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is ok. Good thing is that it's only about 10 minute walk to Penn Station. Had no trouble with the reservation, or check in or check out. I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: higher rooms for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very nice, clean, updated hotel. Some of the reviews may have you concerned with the area. I never felt unsafe during my stay here. However, for this location this place definitely stands out. The area is up and coming.

The check-in area is very new, has an open lobby that includes a bar, TV's, plenty of couches, seats, lounging area. The bar was out a few things (wines) which seemed weird because it was not a busy night. Food was good though.

Rooms are very large, very clean. The bathroom is clean and spacious. Bring your own bath supplies, soap, etc., as the supplies here are very basic and small. Beds are not very comfortable which was weird because I've been to other, older Courtyards and this was never a problem. (Courtyard Meadowlands in fact).

Parking is not free, which is typical around here. Only gripe was the location of the parking which is not the hotels fault. Also, you have to go up 4 floors in the garage to park which makes things a bit more difficult. At least cut the parking price down to $10.

I would have given 4 stars but had to knock it down to 3 for the current parking situation. I know, at $21, you are getting relatively cheaper parking during the games or events at Prudential, but it still doesn't feel like a deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello Shaun G,

Thank you so much for providing your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. Any of your concerns I will be sure to address with the appropriate departments. In regards to parking, unfortunately it is now owned by the hotel and we are subject to their rates. Their rates, however, are very comparable with that of other hotels' parking garages in downtown Newark. Thank you again for your leaving your review.

Fondly,

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Newark Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Downtown

Address: 858 Broad Street, Newark, NJ 07102
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Newark Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Newark Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.