We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Newark Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Newark Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   858 Broad Street, Newark, NJ 07102 (Newark Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Not my first choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here February 9th. Property is obviously brand new. Staff, not so much. Front desk reception, rude. Guy that sits at the front door had headphones in the whole time and if we tried to ask directions or anything, he said that wasn't his job! Room was clean and simple. No complaints there. Not happy with staff at all. Not staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback Kacy D. I can assure you the service you received at our hotel is not the norm and actions will be taken to prevent this from occurring in the future. I hope you give us a second chance so we can become your first choice. Please let me know if you plan on coming back so we can take extra special care of you.

Matt Garber - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
24
21
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pace, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Overall I was pleased by this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, good food choices in the Bistro, nice gym layout and equipment.

Only drawbacks are what appear to be some sloppy work from a construction standpoint, tub faucet loose, missing caulk, etc. and one weird anomaly. Intermittently, I could hear phone conversations and music coming from the vent above the bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Had business in Newark and stayed at this hotel. It was very clean and very nice. I think it's a fairly new hotel and the staff is trying to keep it as beautiful as possible. The only thing I didn't like was that there's really nothing to do around there. Penn Station Newark is close and the hotel runs a shuttle there every hour.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a very nice property in the middle of downtown Newark, NJ. Very new, extremely clean, well decorated, pleasant rooms and friendly staff. What more is there to say. If again in this area for business I would definetly stay at this property. If you wanted you can walk to Penn Station Newark, and take the train into NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Ma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Highly recommended. Terrific friendly staff. Great location if you have biz in Newark. Good Internet. Food choices in house are fine and some terrific nearby restaurants. Rooms are well designed and beds/pillows are very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on a whim... Didn't want to camp out a Newark Airport. To my surprise when driving into downtown the hotel was brand new, clean, and the staff were all very friendly. They have an airport shuttle that runs every hour. They also have free Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us Sabi5150! We hope you come back and see us again when you're back in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I needed a room near NYC the weekend of New Years Eve and the hotels in the city were impossibly expensive. I found this hotel and decided it was worth the risk as I'd never been to downtown Newark and was a bit worried about the city's reputation.
What I found was a great hotel in a neat area with excellent and easy access to NYC. The hotel is a quick five minute walk to Newark Penn Station and that is just a one stop on NJTransit into NYC Penn Station. The hotel is behind the Prudential Center and the neighborhood is rebounding quickly with new restaurants and shops.
The hotel is new and clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the internet fast and reliable. I'll be back to visit NYC and Newark again and I'll certainly make this hotel my top choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Newark Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Downtown

Address: 858 Broad Street, Newark, NJ 07102
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Newark Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Newark Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.