We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Authentic Portuguese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portugalia Bar & Restaurant

Portugalia Bar & Restaurant
280 Ferry Street, Newark, NJ 07105
(973) 465-0696
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 454 restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casual Authentic Portuguese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a smaller Portuguese restaurant on Ferry Street in Newark. If you are looking for a smaller more casual place to get a great authentic Portuguese meal, this is the place for you. It is not touristy like some of the others "Down Neck" Ironbound...it seems to be more of a "local" hangout. Patrons enjoying "Futbol" (or soccer to the American fans) on one of several TV's in the dining area. Waiter was polite and attentive, food was fantastic, Sangria and Espresso, fabulous.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Portuguese Restaurant in Newark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We go there often and the food is amazing... the best we ever had outside of Portugal. The BBQ Chicken is out of this world and everything is fresh and tasteful. Service is friendly and efficient.
If your in Newark and like Portuguese/Spanish food don't miss this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

great BBQ chicken, small cozy place where all locals go for a good home cooked meal....saturdays they have a halibut grilled steak with garlic sauce which is also a must try...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Portuguese food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We live about 3 hours away from this restaurant, but the last two times we've gone to Newark, we've had lunch here. The restaurant is small - about 10 tables, but they also have the bar side, where there are a few additional small tables. The atmosphere is authentic Portuguese. I believe we were the only non-locals there, and everyone spoke Portuguese.

The food is wonderful! We've tried the cozido a Portuguesa (Portuguese boiled dinner), sardinhas assadas (grilled sardines) lombo de porco assado (roasted pork loin), and the bife a Portuguesa, which is a sirloin steak cooked and served in a deep, clay plate. It actually continues to cook while you're eating it because the plate is so hot. They serve it with thinly sliced potatoes. All their servings are really large, but this one was so large, that I brought half of it home!

We also got wonderful steak sandwiches to go for the long ride home.

Service is typical Portuguese - extremely efficient, but little chatting, and fewer smiles. Not that they're unfriendly, it's just their way.

If you're looking for a real taste of Portuguese cooking, don't miss this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portugalia Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Portugalia Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portugalia Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.