We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diner for the Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Newark Liberty International Airport Terminal C-2, Newark, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 488 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Harrogate England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Diner for the Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hit the spot- clean efficient friendly helpful service and pleasing on the eye- 1950's Americana. Good sized portions and generally very god all round. Menu is somewhat limited in variety- burgers and salads and sandwiches being the staple.
Particularly impressed with the staff service especially for an Airport.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    26
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Blast from the Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was looking for someplace in the airport terminal to have a little lunch. I had more than an hour between flights and knew there would be someplace that would work out. This place fit the bill and more, it brought back memories of my childhood when a diner was a place to have good old fashioned food with booths and even jukeboxes at the tables. No jukeboxes here...but little tables with red padded seats. The menu was just perfect for my needs. I'd had a large breakfast, so did not want their burgers and fries which looked fabulous (I watched a family of 5 dive into their lunch which also included yummy looking onion rings.) I found exactly what I wanted on their varied menu. I got a wonderful breakfast dish which is available all day called a Cinnamon Roll French Toast. It was delicious and came with either bacon or sausage. The waiters were pleasant and helpful. I had my requested drink in less than 5 minutes of sitting down. My order was just perfect and I had leftovers to take home for my husband to sample. It is the kind of place that works well for travelers without a lot of extra time. Good food, efficient service, and more than a little nostalgia too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK food, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The restaurant is a tight squeeze with carry on luggage, but the both the host and my server were friendly. I ordered a hamburger and fries. The burger was dry and quite charred on one side. There were not a lot of fries, which was fine because mine were cold anyway. Although there were empty tables and the restaurant was not busy, I felt as if I was rushed out as soon as I had finished my burger.

The price is a little high, but not out of line with other airport food locations. The food quality was OK, but not great. The service was good. I am willing to believe that my poor quality food was just bad luck, so might be willing to give the place another try on my next trip through the airport.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietikon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers, great milkshake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The food at Ruby's Diner is affordable and personnel is reasonably friendly.
The "Ruby Doobie Double Cheeseburger" might be the best burger of its kind I ever had. The "Oreo Cookie Fantasy Milk Shake" was great, and I even got extra ice cream to refill the shake. You only get very few fries with your burger, though.
The bill was brought without request and before we were done eating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Take a Break between Flights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ruby's Diner, in Terminal C at the Newark Airport is a great place to grab a burger between flights. Our server, Valerie, was full of smiles when we travelled through in February. I had the cheeseburger and my husband had the hickory burger. Both came with fries and were presented in a basket lined with red and white paper. Both burgers were generous in size and in flavour. The giant model plane adds to the decor and, overall it's a bright and cheery place. We'll likely stop in again when we fly through Newark.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.